Chennai-Delhi by Train


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
January 11th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi

Pretty dry sorroundings......
Woke up around 7:30am and I was told we were in an area called “Warangal”. Small hills and paddy fields everywhere; surrounding looked very dry.

After brushing my teeth, yes I had to do “something” which I have not done in an Indian train or for that matter a train anywhere in the world…. now my ass is rated for Indian trains as well…hahahahah (alright will spare the details)…during the process however I did loose my toothbrush which was in my denim front pocket….don’t ask me how, you got to be a gymnast to obtain the Indian train rating…

I had 2 “Masala Wade” (INR10/= for both) with “Sambal” for breakfast and I think my system was getting acclimatized to Indian food; I had to go again…alright that’s enough about my system issues…

The train reached Nagpur around 2:30pm. Nagpur is a very important train station; all trains North-South and East-West cross this station. The city is known for growing oranges.

I had 2 slices of bread with happy cow cheese from home and 2 “Dhal Wade’s” (INR10/- for both) for lunch.

Indian trains run on electricity for those might want to know the power source…
Sorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi

Pretty dry sorroundings......


After being in South East Asia where it doesn’t exist and now India the whole male / female segregation is amazing even the railway station has a separate “Ladies” counter….even in the bus the left side is pretty much reserved for ladies and if a man is seated the conductor will shout at get him to move….occasionally I have seen Indian women getting men to get up from the reserved seats.

During the day I finished “Angels & Demon”. Now I have to go to Italy at some stage and to the Vatican to go see all the places mentioned in the book…it would be a different experience to go and see these statues and symbols since now I have an idea of what they mean.

I started on Sigmund Freud’s “Interpretation of Dreams” however my mind kept going to “Digital Fortress” by Dan Brown which I had bought in Chennai. Finally started on it and read till about 9pm and went to sleep….now it was getting a little cold so got on to semi-thermal mode and went to sleep…



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi
Sorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi

Pretty dry sorroundings......
Sorroundings enroute Chennai-DelhiSorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi
Sorroundings enroute Chennai-Delhi

Slums on the way Chennai-Delhi
Indian railway use electricityIndian railway use electricity
Indian railway use electricity

Indian railway definitely runs on electricity.....
Indian railway use electricityIndian railway use electricity
Indian railway use electricity

Indian railway definitely runs on electricity.....
Indian Rail 2nd Class SleeperIndian Rail 2nd Class Sleeper
Indian Rail 2nd Class Sleeper

This is what 2nd class sleeper looks iike....I generally go on 3rd class..


21st January 2006

Since 1970's
By the its 2006 and IR has been running on electricity since 1970's!!!A surprise for an Image of INDIA ?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb