Banana Leaf Plates & More!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
January 8th 2006
Published: January 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me & the MonkeysMe & the MonkeysMe & the Monkeys

Since I don't have digital copies of the conference photos (because I dropped my camera in the Bay of Bengal and hadn't replaced it yet), I thought I'd share some photos that I didn't get to blog about. Here are some fun monkeys on our way up to the hill station of Yercaud. We saw monkeys at the hill stations and at the temples. They are pretty bold creatures...will take bananas out of your hand and steal offerings at the temples. Notice the ash ("cum cum") on my throat and head from an earlier temple visit.
Hello Everyone!
I have very little time, as we are leaving shortly for a dinner party, but I wanted to check in while I could. The Rotary District Conference ended today...it was huge! I can't wait to share photos. Funny thing is, we worked on a powerpoint presentation and have been nervous and preparing to speak to the thousands of people there, and they were running very short on time so we each only spoke for a couple of minutes and thanked everyone, which was fine because I have so much gratitude and would rather convey that than talk about myself anyway. As we travel around to the various clubs over the coming weeks we will be showing our powerpoint and many of the same folks will be there, so it is probably for the best anyway. I'm glad the conference is now over...I really apprecite the intimate time with smaller groups of people more than the mobs of people at the conference.

Since I only have a minute, I just wanted to share that our plates at the conference for every meal were huge banana leaves...no kidding. I have pictures. So, I ate with my fingers (covered with henna
Fabulous FlowersFabulous FlowersFabulous Flowers

These flowers were growing on vines over the entrance to the cottage we stayed at in Yercaud. They were so unusual and beautiful, I just had to capture them.
tattoos) off of big banana leaves. Is that exotic and fun or what?! The banana leaves are for special occasions and celebrations, otherwise they typically use plates.

Later on I will share the amazing conversation I had with my host mother last night. She has become a close girlfriend in only a few days. They have a love marriage rather than an arranged marriage, which is very unusual here. They were very courageous to approach their families and request it. It has been very successful and they are quite loving. The story of their courting (hiding to talk because single Indian women cannot talk to single men who are not family) is really interesting and amazing. Okay...I must go now. Love to you all and more when I can. xxoo.

Advertisement



8th January 2006

Blessings
Jody, I really enjoy how well you express your experiences there with such eloquence. I really get a picture in my head as well as a sense of your emotions. Still waiting for more info on your tour of the Taj. Thank you for being our ambassador. Deenie
8th January 2006

Will we all even recognize all of you? You'll all be so changed by the experience. And no...Mike is NOT going to get 7 course breakfasts served to him at home. Love to all the team!
9th January 2006

Jody, What a grand adventure. I can't wait to see your pictures, and am so sorry about the camera - yikes. But I know you'll have tons more to share. Thanks for making the time to keep everyone updated and included! Love, Karen
9th January 2006

PS - I think you'd look GREAT with your nose pierced!!!
9th January 2006

Good Food
Hi Jody and Team, I miss all of you but love hearing about all the wonderful things you are experiencing. It sounds like the food has not caused any intestinal problems...huge relief I am sure. I am so glad you have come to know more about Rotary. It is a truly fantastic organization, and I hope you and some of the other team members become Rotarians when you return. If you get this message, please let Mags know that Joe never delivered her winter clothes to me, so I can only hope he is going to mail them to the hotel in London. Take care and tell Mike that Shari is keeping everyone informed so they do know what is going on. In Rotary, Debbie

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb