Hidden Treasure in heart of Chennai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
December 22nd 2005
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi,
Personally Chennai is not a place that i would rave about. Would not want to visit Chennai ever again until i discovered Murugan Idli Shop. Actually i stumbled on it. I went to Chennai on a company sponsored trip to attend NASSCOM meeting. I was provided accommodation at Dee Cee Manor Hotel on G.N.Shetty road. Food there sucks. Any way i only had breakfast there and had conference in La Meridian hotel. I must confess food there was no great shake. Very Disappointing. Well came back to hotel after my conference and was taking a stroll and saw few well dressed people waiting outside on pavement in front of a small decent shop. It was Murugan Idli Shop. I ventured inside and Place was jam packed they also have one whole floor to accommodate hungry souls.

I sat in a corner and asked for an Idli. Idli there is served piping hot on a banana leaf and there is no bowl or glass for Sambar . They serve chutneys. No spoons nothing. No Plastic, No fancy cutlery. You have to eat off the banana leaf and i had a morsel and it was out of the world. They charge Idli per piece for some 1.25/- per piece. Dosa for 5-10 bucks. Pongal for 12 bucks. Place is haven for South Indian food. Godd. I tried Dosa and then Vada. My stomach was full but taste buds wanted more.
I kept eating and savoring each morsel. Yummy is the word. I have eaten South India food in modest, fancy and 5 star hotels but i swear nothing beats the South Indian food at Murugan's. Yummy.
After that 2 days i had my breakfast, Lunch and Dinner there and my company saved a whole lot of money on food. I didn’t want to give them bill of 6 Idlis, 2 wadas and 2 dosas.
Bottom line is don’t ever come from Chennai without visiting Murugan Idli Shop. I bet you will not be disappointed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb