Chennai visit 26.3.2009


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai » Elliot's Beach
March 31st 2009
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Visit to Elliot's beach



It was a one day short business trip I had been to the souther town of Chennai. After finishing my work in the first half of the day, I had nothing concrete to do. My return flight was late in the evening. Since I had company of my business colleague, I thought heading toward one of the famous beaches in Chennai. I had been to Chennai before several times on business. But due to lack of free time, I could not visit the beach before. So, this was an opportunity for me to see the beach. Beach is not new to me, as I am born and brought up in Mumbai, which itself is a beach city. Juhu beach (part of Arabian sea) is a major beach in Mumbai. I always wanted to compare how beaches on the eastern coast were with those of the western coast i.e. Mumbai.

My taxi driver drove us the Elliot's beach, which is the part of Bay of Bengal. Surprisingly, my first observation was the blue ocean. In Mumbai the ocean is almost grey. It was a low tide and it took us a good 10 minutes walk to reach near the sea. I was delight to see one of the most elegant beaches. It was almost 4:30 pm and there were very few people on the beach. Unlike Mumbai where the beaches are crowded all the time. There were some young college going boys and girls enjoying the sea. Watching them reminded me of my good old college days. At far distance, I saw a couple getting drenched, holding hands together, fearless of some one spotting them together. My assumption was that married / engaged couple seldom enjoys as much as that couple was. Then there were some couples having their private and intimate time sitting under shades meant to be used by the vendors. But since the beach was empty the vendors had closed the business until the crowd returns in the evening.

I along with my colleagues sat on the sand looking at the sea. There were some small fishing boats scattered across. Some of it were returning back to their base as high tide was approaching. I could feel the strength of the waves as it crashed over each other. At times, the waves almost touched us suddenly. Since I was carrying my laptop, I decided to move backwards to save it from water. For the first time I saw the sun setting at my back and not on the sea side. Then I remembered that I am standing at the eastern coast and usually sun rises from the sea side there. Strikingly opposite event occurs at Mumbai.

Overall my visit to Elliot's beach was a good peaceful time for me.

Do let me know your comments or similar experiences.

Thanks and best regards,
Anantraj

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS










Advertisement



2nd April 2009

Beautiful Beaches
It is so amazing how different beaches can be--white, tan, black, fine, rocky, barren desert, lush tropical, calm, wild, populated, empty, east, west, sunrise, sunset. All, so uniquely beautiful! I love my Florida (southern USA), too. We also have two coasts, but only about 70 miles from coast to coast.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb