room 007 I pressume?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As we are ready to leave Udaipur behind I feel the need to pass on a final note. There is something quite entertaining here. At most guesthouses, and there are more than a few of them, they say: Film 7 o'clock.

The film of course is Octopussy shot here some 25 years ago or so. Remarkably it is shown at the same time at every place every night... I got more respect for 007 movies casting as the Sikh strong man seemed to be a pretty accurate manifestation of Indian hospitality. This however means that I have to rethink my thought on Oddjob, Jaws and the rest of them as stereotypes or unlikely characters.

I have heard no one say sorry in this country and the hit man type in Octopussy looks like an unapologetic sort as well. The place we at was also impressive in re-running the same joke. "Which room do you stay in?" "Room 7", "oooh 007". Same movie same joke every day of ones life..

Our next stop will be Agra, notorious for its overcharging and unhospitable reception of tourists. I cant wait...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb