smelling like the surroundings


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have discovered once and for all that the world is unjust and any cynicism is something i am fully entitled to, let me tell you why.

India has one item to sell, by some people it is said to be much more than that but its really all textile, textile and textile. colorful and cheap but still only textile. since i prefer more traditional clothing such as a Hefneresque bathrobe I have had little interrest in this. However I am also an amazing co-traveller which is why i have accompanied my better half to around 50 different textile stores While doing this the seller tries to poison me, and i get to spend about two days in bed. Or rather, between bed and bathroom. Having had one of the most powerful forces run through me (being that im not religious yet) i felt like mr Creosot from monthy pythons the meaning of life. Only difference was i was a to way street. Creosot did only one direction.

Coming out of this experience slowly has its positives. I am more accustomed to and feel at home in this paradise. I can look at every place i pass on and think "youre stench aint got nothing on me!". Swedes can stink it up to. This is after all the land of public pissing, shitting, farting, nose picking and some other charming features (oh yeah a lot of not so suttle private parts scratching). In other words I think being a fan of textiles is a necesstity in order to fall in love with this place.

We did move on though. From Jaipur, the capital of Rajastan province. To Udaipur a little south of it. A little bit slower and nicer but its also hotter which means increased smelling.

I will leave you with my favorite piece of convo so far. Upon leaving the KAshmir airport with its camouflage painted walls asking the guide "Is this originally built for the army?" The guide tells it straight: "no, no no trouble here now"

I will now prepare for dinner to which the Bond movie Octopussy is served (it was taped here on location)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb