What day is it ?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Ranthambhore National Park
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Namaskaar, apke se (good morning how are you) I'm only a few days in and no idea what day it is till I read the news about a certain Mr. Gadaffi- yeehah! Since last I blogged I have traveled with my own private driver (posh eh) from Delhi to Agra to see the Taj Mahal, absolutely amazing but completely over touristified if you know what I mean. He really loved his first wife and she him, 14 children! Mind you 22 years and 40,000 workers to complete, that puts the trams in the shade. Traveled to Ranthambhhore national park yesterday. 350km of extremely interesting roads, along the way we stop at an up-market restaurant and my driver cannot go in because of the caste system and although there is one wealthy Indian family inside it is mostly Europeans. One twenty km stretch of the road was like driving on the moon, thankfully there were plenty of old women working on it, carrying heavy loads of stone and tar and digging with shovels. (me being cynical for those that don't know me)
Inevitably we got a puncture to the great delight of all those who passed us. Up at 5 this morning to go tiger watching and yes eventually saw one of the magnificent beasts sheltering under trees in a small wood. Also spotted some beautiful birds including a turquoise kingfisher, peacocks of course crocodiles, troupes of monkeys and some very wary deer. The ride itself is one that should be incorporated into Alton Towers. We slipped and bounced up and down roads that threatened to drop us into gullies at any time whilst ducking out of the way of tree branches. Back to the hotel for a swim (before it gets too hot, (sorry Lana)) My driver is staying at the same hotel but is avoiding me as I have threatened to teach him to swim. The mossies have passed the word now and I'm getting a lot of attention, the Jungle strength Deet is good but when it suggested not using it in the nether regions I thought I couldn't use it in Holland, ouch! Of to Jaipur tomorrow, then on a selection of long train journeys so this may be it for a while, oh and Diwali is on 26th October as If the Indians need an excuse to be more noisy. K

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb