First trip to India for the wedding.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
August 12th 2006
Published: October 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well my trip started with some weird days leading up to it.
But they’ve been edited to protect the involved.

Taking the train home Saturday I called Eric, my ride to the airport. He picked me up and we were off to my house so I could pack. Yup. You heard it right. I didn’t pack until Saturday morning. Oh well. What are you going to do? I was busy and happily Friday night was spent in a real bed instead of my futon. I truly hope this is the start of something new. Anyway. Back to the story. After packing from approximately 1240pm I was ready to go in an hour. Bags packed. Umbrella and rain coat retrieved from inside. We were off to the start of my trip to India for the marriage of Dhiraj and Katie. And where best to start this trip but the Rambling House. That’s right everyone. My home for most of the past 4 weeks is where we started. Only one Amstel but I was off. About 220 we started for the JFK. Ok. I say lets go down the parkway. Oops. Damned traffic. It was dead stopped just after the zoo. So we headed off the parkway onto Fordham Road. Over to Webster and down to the Cross Bronx. More traffic. Then we moved on to the Sheraton and over the Tri-borough. Then of course more traffic. Eric kept asking “are you enjoying this?” Well I had to admit I was. I was looking really good, the Yankees were on and winning against Anaheim, and well I heading out of the country on Swiss in F.
Finally at around 315 it stopped being funny. We were still miles from the airport. And well stuck in traffic. But just when I was getting upset by things we started moving and I was at the airport by about 330.

Swiss F check-in along with Star Gold and HON and something else but not C is across the main aisle from the others. The check-in lines were very long for C and Y. Glad I didn’t have to wait in those. But anyway… Five minutes waiting to check in and given instructions to the lounge. Sadly the lounge is not airside. I really would have been happier going through security before going in the lounge. But I managed.

The Swiss F lounge was pretty basic. About the size of my living room it had two 2 seat couches and several chairs that although sufficient were quite basic. Tables between them for dinner. There is a small cooler with some beer and soda choices. A fairly large bottle selection. As well as wine and champagne. Dinner was served in the same style you’d expect. Hot plates buffet style. Two main dishes give. A fish (I assume the same sea bass special of the day on board) and a roasted beef slices dish. Sides were roasted potatoes and a vegetable rice. With dinner I had a Stella to wash it down.

One hour 30 minutes to go before my flight I figured I’d go and get some money. D had asked for US dollars. A quick question to the guard checking BPs and ID told me that there was no first class security for the second half. STUPID. The money these tickets cost says you get treated better. You are the ones keeping the airlines alive. Anyway. 20 minutes from the start of my security experience to getting through. I wasn’t hassled. No one checked to see if I had any banned items on my person at any time. Last time I checked half of them fit in pockets and did not trigger metal detectors. I did however comply and threw out an old stick of chapstick I had in my bag that I forgot about. TSA is such a waste of money. I can’t say it any more than that.

This put me airside at 5pm. Boarding was supposed to begin at 510. No worries I figured. Well let me tell you Swiss ground for this flight was a total cluster fuck. The made no boarding announcements that I ever heard. Nor anyone else in first from what I heard in conversations. 40 to 50 passengers boarded with the “those traveling with small kids” announcement that was not announced but spoken from the gate desk. F and C passengers were DENIED boarding during this time. Everyone was packed into the F and C boarding lane. At the plane door I had a 5 minute wait to get on the plane and then the FA at the door directed me to the back of the plane after looking at my BP and being told 2D. So I tried to go past him into the F cabin. Well… That got a very rude and stern challenge. I again showed him and told him and finally he relented. No idea what he thought I was going to settle for with my F seat due me.

Now onboard I was quickly asked to move by another passenger. I’m in the new seat and the ottoman is broken as is the video screen but they’re nothing I can’t overcome. So I am not terribly upset as this gave me the window I wanted. I always take aisle when I travel but window is aisle in this cabin and it is quite nice to have a view. I was able to see most of Long Island, Block Island, Newport RI, Martha’s Vineyard, and we flew right of Nantucket. The entire cape was in view.

First movie was the Sentinel. Watched that during meal service. Had roasted tomato soup. Shrimp with wasabi sauce. The sea bass daily special. Vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce and blackberries. A couple good cheeses. Champagne and mineral water to wash it all. We’re about three hours out of NY now and I’m just writing these things before I fall asleep. I am about to put this away and make up my bed.

But first I need to locate my bedding. That will take me a few more minutes while I again put this down.

I am so excited by the trip. I am SO looking forward to seeing all these things.

Monday at 747pm.
I slept well on the plane. Woke up over Paris and was awake coming into Zurich. I realized as this was my first time flying into this airport that this is the most Europe looking countryside at an airport.

My arrival had me heading to the lounge. I made my way to terminal A and upstairs to the Swiss lounge. Upon entering I was given directions to the F lounge. You have to ring the door bell for admittance. Here I was shown a shower and then had a banana and some cheese along with breakfast tea. An hour on the internet and I was happy. Updated FT with the JFK Swiss lounge info. Wrote some emails. Wished I had a phone even though it was 3am or so at home.

Because of the word of long security lines back into terminal E I left the lounge at 9. Took me until 915 to get to the Airtrain. A short ride to the next terminal and I was in line for security. I was the line for security. No one else was around. I went right to the gate as there isn’t much shopping in this part of terminal E.

Boarding on time and departed shortly after. Only seven of the twenty four seats in J were occupied. Was surprised it was a 2-2-2 configuration. Meal service was nice. Had quiche, beef, and pudding. Some champagne. Some coke. Some water.

I watched Ice Age 2 on the flight. Then went on with reading my book and sleep. Let me tell you the chair was QUITE uncomfortable.

Waking up over India I was getting excite. On approach I noticed that the streets look like paths cut by water in rock. Two stories and narrow. Everything just flowing.

At the airport I ran into a man from the flight who was going to the same hotel. Or as it turned out the hotel I thought I was staying at. I got there and had no reservation so I checked in and went to my room. I signed on the internet. Called Dhiraj from the room. And showered and got ready to go out. Back to the airport I go. Waiting there a man comes over and asks if I am Chris. Turns out he was waiting for me and I didn’t see him earlier. As Chris’ flight was very delayed he took me back to the hotel and took me to the club where Dhiraj and the others were. Club was fun. Lots of good times and the service was quite impressive.

After clubbing until 4 am we all jumped in a cab to the Bombay Presidency Golf Club where unbeknownst to me but beknownst to them we were supposed to stay. The plan was to continue the party in the rooms but everyone crashed out. Honestly I would have stayed at the Leela instead of coming here but that’s neither here nor there. The Simpsons were on when we got here so I was able to see the end of one of my favorite episodes ever. Scorpio.

I woke up at 1130am in a near panic. I had to check out of the Leela and was still at the BPGC. So quick clothes and down to get a cab. The front desk arranged this for me. I paid 300 INR for the trip back to the Leela. It was a non airconditioned car so the windows were all open. The drive back was an eye opener for me. The streets here are SO aggressive. Everyone is pushing their way to the limit of things. Walkers, bikers, motor bikers, drivers. All pushing and sharing the streets. Constantly on the horn to let others know they are there. I could turn my head left and lick the car next to me it is so close.

Back at the Leela at 1230 with a check out time of 12 noon I talked to the front desk and was granted 1400. Excellent! Off to the room. Internet. Shower. Internet until the battery died. At 145 I went downstairs to check out. Excellent service. They all asked how my stay was. What they could do to make it better. Etc. After this I got the SIM for my mobile. A standard practice in travel these days. Now to get the address of the BPGC and head back. Hoping Chris is still there. Another cab. This one a private car with A/C for 450 rupees that I gave 500 to. Really was an interesting afternoon. When I returned Chris was nearly ready. He wanted to go walk about. Not something I looked forward to but along with Chung we walked around the block. It took an hour and a half. What sights. What a crazy lost feeling. We just kept turning left. Chris did some shopping and we all went to the ATM. Finally back at the hotel we got ready for the party that night. Started around 830. Went until 12 or so. What a great time. It was an informal event with music and two singers. Dancing was mandatory.

Another night sleep and we arrived at Tuesday. 15 August. Happy birthday dad. Independence Day in India celebrating the 60th anniversary of the departure of Great Britain. This day saw a group trip to the mall. Shopping was had by many. Followed by a tour of the parking lot and lunch at McDonalds. Had the chicken Maharaja Mac. Wow it was crazy.

Upon our return from the shopping trip Chung and I went after airtime for me and a SIM for him. What a hassle. Everyone wants all sorts of info for the smallest things. Finally after about 15 minutes I had recharged my phone. Now to get a SIM. Place I got my airtime they refused to sell him one. No pic and no passport copy. They refused to help in these matters. And so we kept searching for a place to get him one. A shop around the corner seemed more willing to help. They had a runner who took us to the photo shop and also to the Xerox shop. But Xerox shop number one wouldn’t do it. So he took off down a back alley with his passport. So we ran after. Back alley Bombay is quite the experience. The alley was a river of shit. Everyone swears its only mud but the smell denies this. Once copied we were back to the shop. There they did what was needed and he was in business. Of course in this time it had started raining. Yay rain!!! When it slowed we ran back to the hotel.

Early evening was spent down stairs in the club with a beer or two. Just chilling in the open air atrium. Finally it was time to go to temple. No idea what the night had in store. About 90 minutes of sitting Indian style had most of the Americans quite sore. Followed by a dinner that included pizza of all things I ate another late meal. Hello Argentina is all I can say to this. I felt more at home in EZE while in BOM than anywhere else. Food wise. After we left temple everyone had a fairly sober night and drank in the girls room. Couple of those had us feeling good and ready for bed and others ready for war.

Wednesday I woke up 1pm. I had been up late talking to Janet and wishing I could get online mixed with drinking with everyone. Some A vicious hang over and a mix of vodka for breakfast and Kingfisher with the guys downstairs set the pace for today. Another what am I doing alive in India day. We sat in the club most of the afternoon. Today was the day we stayed in the hotel all day. Except to go to the ring ceremony. What a time that turned into. Wow. Katie looked great in her green. Dhiraj in his I want off the stage lets party mode. The highlight of the evening was the Punjabi dancers in blue and such when they came in for the latest installment of make the white people dance. Dinner was good and we also met a DR coming to NY in the coming months. So this is really been a world expanding holiday.

Thursday was one of those days. Woke up super early at 330am. Couldn’t sleep. Had little on top of the evening’s cocktails but still wanted to deal with life. I had a bit of a tick going on at home and really wished I had been there to take care of it. So as the day rolled by we kept building towards the party. Dhiraj promised it would be the party to remember of the week. Funny. He was right. I stayed sober to get up early and therefore remember it all. The best part on a personal note (you know, outside of the wedding vows and such….) was when I went to the dinner line and the wait staff insisted I was in the wrong line because this was all veg. I was white and therefore must eat meat. Well I do. I eat lots. Ask those about to be in Argentina just how much I eat. But on this night I remembered what my mother said. I used to be a veg head. And its all I wanted.

I had gone out of my way to NOT take any meds for this trip. I figure as usual that even sickness (short of death) is all part of the experience. So can anyone explain my fucked up dreams???????? Snake bites? Love and loss. Travel all around. The snake bite really scared. But Chung helped out a bit by telling me it was good luck. Ok. Maybe. But I still ran when that guy threw the snake at me in Delhi on the last day.

And so I stayed sober that Thursday to to wake up early Friday and go site seeing. HAHAHHAHAHHA. Fat chance. I was sober. But couldn’t sleep worth a lick. Not to bed until after 6am. Amazing. I left the party at 4 to go to bed after a short call to Janet. After that Chris came back to the room and put on Air Force One. Well I watched the whole thing. Hey! Everyone! Listen up! This is why I don’t stay in hostels anymore. I hate having to drink myself to sleep.

So I come to one Friday around about 1. Found out Dhiraj was taking us on a tour of Mumbai as he knew it. His Catholic school. His office (one of). His house. This was the first chance I had to speak to his father Vinod. Nothing deep. Just a bit of a discussion about business and what he hopes for his children. My chance to get online. Somehow Dhiraj figured my NYC-SIN for under 1k was a BOM-DEL for 1k. Anyway. You’re still my hero for getting the 10% price change from 3 weeks out to 12 hours prior. It was my truest pleasure to come to India to take part in this wonderful experience. I will forever be grateful.

And so it all concluded with the majority of the group going back to the Leela for a little apps and drinks. Here we took over one of the bars. Said our goodbyes. And the promises to keep in contact etc. I know I will see some again. I know I won’t others. Its just the way these things go. But I had a great time. When they all went to the airport to fly home Meagan, Chris and I went to downtown Mumbai and took pics of the Gateway to India. Then went upstairs to, hold you breath for the shocker, the rooftop bar in the Taj Hotel over looking the Gateway. It was a rocking good time with a bottle of wine. Some text messages. And great laughs amongst us all. On the way home the cabbie didn’t know how to get to the BPGC. So we went all the way back to Leela. From there I got the address from the business center and off we were. 5 minutes later than we thought. A quick pack up and we were off. Special thanks to all who got up at 3am to see us off. It was greatly appreciated. Hope you like the George!!!

My morning continued with the apparent loss of my shades. Found 30 minutes later. Now at the domestic airport 4 hours early for a flight that turned out to be delayed. What a royal pain in the ass it is flying domestically in India. Like I said to Chris. Next time I take the train. A full day to get there? So what! The flight was in a cramped cattle wagon. Nothing but 3 and 3 small seats with SouthWest style seating. We went back about 75% so we could sit together and also because I was hoping the back door would be used when we arrived. This turned out to be a smart move. I slept the whole of the flight.

When we arrived in DEL it took a while to get our bags. Then it was on to find our driver. He was a good driver nicknamed Jagga. Not a lot to it really. I watched the sights go by on the drive until about two hours in when I finally fell asleep again. The drive is surprisingly hard. I truly can’t believe there is no work toward a better transportation network here. But hey. Its how they want it.

Arrival in Agra had us at the Sheraton first to drop off Chris. Then on to the Hilton for me to see if I could get a room here. I had missed out on the $39 prepaid rate but still if I was going to have to pay 50% of the $160 at the Sheraton I was going to just pay the Hilton and get what is still a cheap stay. $85 all in is what it cost me. And truth be told the limit of what I’d pay to stay here again. The hotel was nice. Nothing more than three star. But the courtyard was the main attraction. I wish I had taken pics of it. But I did get two postcards of it.

Then after Chris came to get me we were off to the Taj Mahal. This place is amazing! I really can not put into words. Everyone has seen pictures of it but until you’re there seeing it with your own eyes you just don’t understand.

After the run around with the ricshaws and tour guides and tourist rates and what not I had had enough when we finally left. We went back to the Sheraton where we were able to order steaks for dinner in the room. Just what we needed. A quick toast to those in the air thinking they were going to get steak before us and eating began.

Before I headed back to the Hilton we went and found an ATM and also phone time for me. A hassle over me not telling them not to extend my validity and instead give me the time I asked for shorted me 100 Rs. I really hate the rip off the tourist attitude in these places.

Back at the Hilton I proceeded to try and get online. It was unsuccessful as they even called in the IT man at 11pm. I did not ask them to do this and was slightly embarrassed that they had. But it’s a great example of the service level here. I texted home a bit and then was off to sleep. Next morning I was ready much earlier than Chris and some confusion led to me using up most of my phone time. Finally at 2pm we were on our way to DEL. A drive by of the Red Fort and a stop for Chi and water had us back in DEL about 630. I checked in. Signed up for Priority Club. I’ll never throw away points. I may let them expire later. But that’s my choice then. Not when I earn them.

A little shopping expedition and then a hunt for food had us back at the room. I changed rooms twice and was VERY disappointed they would only allow me on the first floor of this nearly empty hotel. Service at the Crowne Plaza was not very good. I was finally online though and proceeded to catch up on all events of the past week when I was disconnected. About 3am I fell asleep and woke up at 9. Got ready to leave by noon and was on my way with Mahavir.

Mahavir, of Rajastanbycar.com was the best driver I had during my trip. He took me to the Lotus Temple and many other sites around town I must look up to get the names of. A quick trip to the India Gate and government building near it had me exhausted by 5pm. So we went to where he thought the Hilton was and it was an Intercontinental.
I invited him to have a drink with me but he refused and chose to wait outside. I watched the ManU game and wrote some postcards while enjoying happy hour.

At 9pm he drove me to the airport and I was ready to be off. Air Canada check in was not fun. Nothing about AC was great. I was permitted only in the Sheraton lounge.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb