India - the homeland as I've never seen it before


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
November 8th 2006
Published: November 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in India on 6th October 2006 and went straight to Ahmedabad. I stayed with family friends there who made sure that I was EXTREMELY well fed and looked after before setting off on the trip proper. On the 9th, I made my way to Delhi to catch up with my travel buddy Som (the person who's in most of my pics), and then on to Bandhavgarh NP to start the tiger-fun. On the way we had to take a 7-hour (!) cab journey thrugh Nowherenigar and Randomabad - a journey that was only 150 miles so you can imagine how bad the roads were.

Bandhavgarh itself was amazing. We stayed with Shivang, Rupal and their 7-year-old boy Eshaan. Me and Som thought we might be helping out around the camp but in true Indian style we were lazy and just went to the park everyday. We spent two weeks there and ended up seeing loads of tigers (we saw nothing for 4 days and both of us were convinced that the park a con at first!!). There were also some horrendous spiders, a python and loads of other animals. Both me and Som emerged relatively unscathed (although I did get a rash on my arm from as poisonous caterpillar!).

Before leaving Bandhavgarh, we did get the chance to see the erotic temples of Khajuraho - really makes you wonder what Indians were like 1000 years ago (check the pics below - the less said the better!)

After our time in the Jungle, we headed to beautiful Rajasthan. First stop...Udaipur. The city - and the lakes in particular - were stunning...a definite must visit. Strangely EVERY hostel in town decides to show the movie Octopussy at EXACTLY 7-30pm because it was partly filmed there.

After sightseeing in Udaipur we took a 7-hour bus to Pushkar Mela (I still haven't figured it out but in Rajasthan fat old masi's and little kids find it completely normal to jump on and off moving buses!). The Mela happens once a year and well over a hundred thousand visitors (foreigners and freshies) descended upon the town. The fair was without doubt the strangest thing I have ever seen. There were camels, horses and cows everywhere - dodgy ferris wheels, moustache competitions and the maruti wall of death- just check out the pics below. (I will blow my own trumpet here and make it known that I came 5th in a foreigner vs locals sack race - I was the only foreigner!)

Unfortunately this marked the end of the India-based fun. Som's staying in India for a few weeks but onwards to Hong Kong I went.

HK is an awesome city. Unfortunately I only spent 2 days there but Som's friends Mel and Hannah, who live there, made sure that I had a fantastic time (thanks a bunch you guys!). Unfortunately I can't put up the HK photos just yet.

And here I am in Auckland...where the time is 13 hours ahead of UK! I'm hitting the road tomorrow to do all things extreme: bungy/abseil/rafting etc...wish me good luck!




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



9th November 2006

READ ON!
moj...moj just isn't the same with out moj, moj!jst there see...i'm having withdrawals. In true backpacker tradition you will inevitably be getting rid of a few belongings somewhere along the line, so give me a shout and i'll make sure i'm the perfect substitutable size....on that note, make it soon would you. Trip so far sounds every bit phenonmenal...lots of love to the kiwis...they're great fun! love you lots..moj xxx
15th November 2006

Fun
Well Sammy, it seems that India was lots of fun! Hope you didnt learn too much from someof the carvings/pictures posted!!! Hope your riske sports in Auckland goes well (and that your bithday was fab). Keep us posted. Love Sonia xx

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb