Free day in Jaipur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
April 2nd 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

That's me in my Saree!That's me in my Saree!That's me in my Saree!

This was taken before a few alterations. I forgot to take one after the alterations and now it is too late because it has been packaged up and sent home already...
Looking at Sari's
Visit some tourist sights?
Chill out time needed.

Well it was a pretty uneventful day today. Six people in our group ended up having the doctor pay a visit to the hotel. Major sickness going round the group and there are a few that didn't see the doctor and are not feeling up to par. Touch wood that I'm not one of those...although in the afternoon I was feeling a bit tired and feverish but nothing like an hour's nap to rejuvenate!

Basically I went down for breakfast at the hotel restaurant around 8:30 where I bumped into Rachael and David so I sat down and ate with them. David headed off and Rachael hung around and kept me company. The group had planned on making a trip to the fabric store to check out Sari's at 10:30. That was delayed a bit because of some of the doctor's visits. I think we didn't end up leaving until about 12:30...Wow, I spent four hours in the restaurant! lol

It was really nice at the sari shop. Shauna and I picked up a Salwar Kameez (thanks for the correction Sonal!) It was quite an interesting process. The guy kept pulling out suit after suit and we'd tell him whether or not we liked what he was showing us and we'd ask for other colours etc. Eventually we picked out a few to try on and I was basically sold on the first one I tried on...red with gold detailing. Hard to describe. Perhaps I'll have to take a picture and post it. Only a few minor alterations were needed but other than that it was good to go. Shauna also picked out a red one and only needed a few minor alterations on the pants. Meanwhile Rachael and Donna were downstairs trying on sari's. From afar they looked amazing as they were wrapped in metres and metres of cloth. Since we had some time to spare waiting for the alterations to be done we went out to look for some scarves that some of the others wanted to purchase. The streets were super crowded with shoppers and it was kinda hard looking at what shops had to offer because if you showed even the tiniest bit of interest (or actually even if you didn't show any interest at all!) they tried to pull you into their store to show you what they had to offer. On a hot day I didn't really have the patience for it all.

We got back in time to take a bit of a rest before heading out again to check out some of jewelry. It was definitely not the type of jewelry that I was looking for. I'm talking high end stuff these guys were offering. I was thinking more along the lines of "cheap" costume or silver jewelry! I'd have to say that Rachael was the eventual winner of the biggest spender award with the purchase of a ring (I think with a sapphire) and a matching bracelet. It was funny, Robyn sits down and says "first one out". I wanted to say "Actually, I wasn't even in!." But thought it would be a bit rude to say it out loud in the middle of the showroom. Even I know when to bite my tongue. lol

So it was a pretty uneventful day in Jaipur...no tourist sights visited! Oh well. It was a bit of a downer of a day with so many people being under the weather...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb