Jaipur---pink city


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
September 28th 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In Jaipur I'd recommend staying in the Pearl Palace hotel. Really nice staff, lovely restaurant, and good tourist office.
We hired a rickshaw to take us to all the sights in and around Jaipur, Iswari minar swarga sal---walk all the up this little viewing tower to get nice views of the city, mind the pigeons though.
Royal Gaitor---one of my favourite places, a guy just appeared telling us the whole story about the places which was great as half the carvings on each building i would have missed, and not had a clue what the place was about.
Amberfort--you can hire an elephant to take you to the top or hire a jeep, we walked as it was only 5minutes. nice views of the lake and surrounding area, I'd say avoid the place at the weekend as it gets quite busy with school kids.
Nahargarh-tiger fort-----Its a rickety journey to the top as the roads are so bad, and sadly the palace was in disrepair, it had graffiti all over and parts of the building were crumbling away, although you pay an entrance fee it dosent seem to be spent on repair work, so if it continues to be treated the way it is, there wont be much of it left in 10 years time.
Jantar Mantar--its an observatory, but i didn't hire a guide so i couldn't really appreciate what the hell i was looking at!!!
Also I think I have a new business plan. I spoke to a very honest rickshaw driver who told me how much commission he gets if he takes a tourist to visit a shop etc and how much he gets if that tourist buys something, so I think I may be a hired tourist for rickshaw drivers, we spend the day visiting shops i pretend to be interested and we split the difference !!! dont know how willing the rickshaw drivers would be to share their cut though--but a good idea I think.
Shopping in the government emporiums in my opinion is so much easier, although more expensive. No one is constantly hassling you, and you're allowed to stroll around the shop without interruptions, as a result I ended up buying xmas presents for my family.
I have an overnight train ride to Udaipur booked in 3rd class and I'm really looking forward to it

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb