Namaskar!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
September 15th 2005
Published: September 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello again. I hope all is well and good in Chicago and elsewhere, and that you are all enjoying Fall. If anyone wants to do something wonderful for me, email me pictures of fall: the leaves, the colors, the people in sweaters.

India is fabulous. It's beginning to cool off, which is really nice. The weather is usually in the 70's, which is perfect since we're always required to wear long pants and no sleeveless tops. I mostly wear a salwaar kameez, which consists of billowy cotton salwaar pants, a long kurta top, and a scarf called a dupatta. The're really quite attractive and comfortable. Also, they reduce the constant stares I get by about 10%!,(MISSING) which is at least something.

Yes, India is a country of starers. Especially when there's a foreigner milling about. I feel all eyes on my as I walk down the street. For the most part, it's not threatening; they're curious. Children run down the street and pour out of windows, just for a chance to say "Hello! Namaste!" Today two girls and a boy ran down the street after me. I turned to say hello, and one of the girls blew me a kiss.
This really can be a lovely country.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb