Birds yes. Tiger? I think not.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bharatpur
March 30th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

On a bicycle Rickshaw.On a bicycle Rickshaw.On a bicycle Rickshaw.

That's me and Robyn.
Bird Sanctuary
Birds, mammals, reptiles and more.
Bicycle rickshaws.

In the morning we were in the fortified ghost city of Fatephur Sikri. I wasn't too impressed. Perhaps it is just a case of "I've seen too many forts" or something. The most memorable thing about this place was the courtyard where all the "games" for the King were played. I found it amusing that they played such games as Blind Man's Bluff and Hopscotch! Oh yes, and there was also a Human Parcheesi game board. Apparently the "game pieces" were all women dressed in their transparent garments.

What was more interesting was the visit to the Keoladeo Bird Sanctuary in the afternoon in Bharatpur. I shared a bicycle rickshaw with Robyn. From the start we were just joking. Upon seeing the tiniest of men peddling the two of us on the back of his rickshaw we started to "apologize"...I'm sorry for eating so much McD's. I'll eat more fruits and veggies. I'll exercise at least three times a week. You get the picture.

I can't remember our rickshaw drivers name but he has been giving guided tours of the Bird Sanctuary for 12 years so I'm guessing he
Being chased!Being chased!Being chased!

I waved to this kid. He waved back and then proceeded to try and keep up with our vehicle. His little sister tried to keep up too but there were too many obstacles in her way.
has buns and thighs of steel. There was a sign posted at the beginning of our tour stating that there had been tiger sightings previously so of course Robyn and I were on the look out for the elusive tiger. The previous day there was also a snake (or was that specifically cobra??) sighting but we were not so lucky. We did however see a variety of birds, cows, antelope, a turtle and a water snake to name a few.

We couldn't help but start giving our own commentary as we were taken along the paths of the Bird Sanctuary. "And on our left are a couple of homosapiens. They appear to be travelling in a pair today.."

Oh, my time is almost up. I’ll have to continue updating this another day…four minutes left and counting...plus I have a swimming party to go to this afternoon. The fun never ends. haha

Okay, I'm back...

Hmm, what else is there to report from that day. I received confirmation that I'm not very good at spotting wildlife in the bush. "You see over there where there is a big tree." Yes. "You see where there is a dead tree." Yes. "Just above there you'll see a bird." Hmm, really? That went on for at least 5 or 10 minutes of the guide trying to tell me where this damn bird was sitting. Then all of a sudden the bird appeared in the tree...I'm surprised it did not fly off before I spotted it. lol

At the hotel this night I did not have a roommate. Robyn came to visit me before going to bed to check out what my room was like. I then proceeded to sing "All By Myself" and "One...is the loneliest number..." This would be the start of many times that Robyn and I would sing these songs the next few days. I think that the joke still lives on...at least for me and I think Robyn too. The others in our group...I'm not so sure. lol


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb