Littering is the new black


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Chandigarh
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was just reading my previous entries and laughing my head off. I hope you all enjoy this blog as much as I do. Could I be any more dramatic? I bet I could but I'll spare you!! Am I the worst speller ever? That's even with me asking Laura how to spell every other word. I noticed I've told you the same thing twice sometimes but that's how you'll know it's important. I can't even begin to cover all the spectacular things that happen in a day but if I ever come home I'll have some wonderful stories to tell (key words- if I ever come home)
How's your day? Mine was perfect. Laura and I had our driver take us shopping. We lucked out and found the BEST SPA EVER!!! It was like a beautiful western oasis there amoungst the madness that is India. I needed a spa. I didn't think my feet could be put back to right. I wear sandals everyday and at night my feet are filthy!!!Filthy, dirty, nasty!! and dry. Today my feet are clean enough to eat with! I'm very happy about that.
Remember I told you a few weeks back, that rule number one was don't ride on mo peds? That is still the case unless it's me driving. Cousin Sukhi is giving me daily lessons in the evening after dinner. I'm doing alright with it. I still freak out when an oncoming car or cow approaches, and turning corners and remembering to drive on the left side of the road are problematic but practice makes perfect right?
Now that I've been here for a month I'm starting to be able to focus a little more. I've noticed some strange going ons here in India. I saw a dog that looked suspiciously like a monkey, and a goat that kinda looked like a dog if you get what I'm saying. Laura saw a cow with an extra leg but I missed that one.
This is going to sound just awful but littering is what we do here! and I get a real kick out of it (that's the bad part). In the begining I stuggled with it, it felt wrong. Now I giggle every time and I know Laura gets a charge out of it as well. I can't see asking someone where the trash goes so they can take my empty juice box from me and throw it on the ground in front of me when I can just do it myself. Besides it's good for something. They have people here whose job is to pick up trash, that's how they make a living. Nothing really goes to waste here.
Tomorrow we are heading to Kashmir and the Himalayas for a week. There is some unrest in the north but we are going to stay in the neutral areas. I forgot the name of the lake but we are going to stay on a house boat for a few days and then go up in the mountains, I can't wait!!
One last thing I want to tell you and then I have to go. Yesterday two little beggar children, a girl and a boy, no older then 8 years, latched onto me. They didn't even hardly have clothes on. The boy was wearing some kind of like, I don't know, loin cloth? and the girl a shabby, torn, thread bare dress and no shoes on either of them of course. Anyway I gave them some $ but they wouldn't quit. They grab at my arms, point to their mouths and rub their bellies, even though they're not speaking english it's pretty cut and dry. So now the little boy is kneeling down with his head on my sandals just begging me. Alright, alright! I take out some more $ and I give half to him and then I go to give more to the little girl. The boy tries to grab the $ out of her hand and run. Lightning quick I grab the little boy's arm and proceed to scold him. I think I scared the sh*t out of him, I surprised myself. I still don't know if that was wrong of me but it made me very upset that he was going to be so selfish.

Advertisement



10th April 2008

you go mama keep those little indian children in line...
11th April 2008

You look good GIRL
Adrienne, I miss you sooooo much. im so jealous. Your in India and i'm in America. WTF. I should have come with you. You look super skinny too. If i knew Imdia was the new diet, i would definately have signed on the black line. I miss you girl. Take it easy!
12th April 2008

be careful and enjoy up north and it's ok to wear shoes alligator heels are not!!!!!! attractive :-)

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb