Amritsar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Amritsar
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sat siri akal (a Punjabi greeting),

Amritsar has got to be omne of the best places I have visited so far. I got off the train and immediately found a very nice rickshaw driver called Shindla who agreed to show me around the city.

First, we stopped for Chai which is Indian tea spiced with cardomon, ginger and cloves. Then I got my fist view of the Golden Temple. This is the most sacred place for the Sikh religion and most Sikh's try to make a pilgrimmage here at least once in their lives.

The temple sits in the middle of man made lake called the Sarovar (Pool of Nectar) surrounded by a huge complex. It is open 24 hours a day and was very busy when I arrived. Hundreds of people were praying, bathing in the Sarovar and Give offering of flowers and food.

The temple was so amazing I had to go back for a second visit. This time I decided to eat in the temple kitchens. All the food is free to people of all religions, not just Sikhs. It was a simple dish of Dhal, veg and chapati (flat bread) and was delicious. It also came with a rice pudding called Kheer and it's the best rice pudding i have ever tasted. The kitchens can cater for upto 10,000 people at a time and all the workers are volunteers.

I am sad to be leaving Amritsar and the Golden Temple.
Speak to you soon, Thorny

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb