New Delhi Day 1


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory
October 23rd 2018
Published: October 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

It is a four-and-half-hour flight from Bangkok to New Delhi and I spent the time on the plane reading my notes on India. Beginning tomorrow, I will be on an organized tour with a driver and a guide. We will see the sights in New and Old Delhi before moving on to the next town. I had a little bit of time this afternoon to explore on my own, but I didn’t get far from the hotel. I expected to see lots of people walking here, but instead motor vehicles are the way most people get around. Traffic laws are not even seen as suggestions here. As far I can tell, drivers just do what they want. I saw no crosswalks and no pedestrian signals while I was out walking. I crossed a couple of streets, but then lost my nerve and returned to the hotel. I ate dinner at the hotel’s “all-day” restaurant and had a tofu dish with a side of nan bread and a Kingfisher Beer. The total cost, including service charge, was 1,856 Rupees (about $25). It was quite tasty and I expect that I’ll be eating at hotel restaurants for dinner most nights while I am in India.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb