Rekha's place, Noida, UP, India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 14th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was woken up by Rekha’s servant who had brought me tea at 0800. I went down afterwards and Rekha’s mum (aunty) wanted to know what I would have for breakfast I said whatever that they are eating because the whole idea of this trip was to live like the local people and eat what they eat. I has Dosai and white sambal another different dish and it was great.

Afterwards I read the newspaper from beginning to end….can you believe this certain days in Jan and Feb there are sometimes 20,000 weddings in India (I guess for a billion people that isn’t much). Do we have 400 weddings a day in SL any part of the year to do a percentage comparison?

The trend among 25-30 year olds in Delhi is to buy there own home on mortgages and an increasing number of people are now living together….how’s that for a conservative society ??? Shouldn’t this sort of thing be promoted in SL as well ??

The average marketing executive’s salary in Delhi ranges around INR700,000-1,500,000 per year….that’s quite high compared to SL and cost of living is cheaper….something’s wrong with that equation…..

Had a chat with uncle, what a coincidence, Rekha’s family had lived in West Dulwich in the eighties. This is where my aunt (Punchi lives) and my father used to live….small world.

Relaxed and didn’t do anything just chilled the rest of the day…..sometimes you do need a holiday from travelling…..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb