Punctual Turks and Fun in Noida


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 13th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 6:45am, took an auto INR60/= and went to the Turkish Embassy by 8am. I wanted to be the first as I wanted to get my passport on the same day.

The official issues tokens got in only around 9am. I was seated on a bench reading “Digital Fortress” when the official came. As soon as he came there were other travel agent representatives who hurried to the gate to get a token. What happened next is unbelievable in India or for that matter anywhere in the world.

The travel agent representative who was in front told the rest of the people to back off and told them that “I as in VW” was here first and for them to allow me to get to the front of the queue and get the number one token.

When I was called to be given a token (I guess Turkey and South Asia are all the same) I was given number 2….wonder why…..one dude had managed to slither himself inside the little office and had a whole lot of passports and had got number one….

Anyways after all the tokens were given the gentleman who accepts application forms Mr. George (MG) came at about 10am. (Consular hours for the Turkish Embassy are from 0930-1130).

MG started working on passports that Mr. Number 1 had brought and then saw me and decided to take my passport before his. It amazes how all these embassies issues visas depending on the number of documents you give them. The more documents you give the better chances of a visa. When I gave in my application form since I already had the other visas specifically (British and Schengen) there was really nothing more they could ask. So MG asked me “Is this all you are submitting, just the application form ?” a similar question was asked by me at the Iranian embassy in Sri Lanka….

I said wait a minute I will give you something more at least then my file in the embassy (i.e. if they have one) will be a little thicker….I gave a letter stating my intentions and explaining my route. Since I already had a letter from HSBC confirming my credit card limit to the Turkish Embassy, I gave that too. When MG realised that the visa fee for Sri Lankan were less than Indians he was shocked….(some benefits of being poor J). I requested for “Tourist” visa, even a ‘Transit” visa would have been sufficient because a “Transit” visa allows you to stay in Turkey for 7 days. The cost is the same for both. Generally the documentation requirement for Tourist is more than Transit.

For all of you people reading this (people holding a not so credible passport like mine) that “Schengen” is a pretty important visa; it takes you places and makes life much easier all over the place….

I asked MG whether I can pick up my passport the same day and he said yes come between 5 and 5:30pm.

I went to the Czech, Hungarian and Bulgarian embassies afterwards. See the Embassies section in my blog to get more info on them.

Afterwards I walked up to the SL embassy, met Mr. Rasika Mayadunne, had a chat with him, he said there are no issues on this path I am taking and told me to contact them if there are any problems with visas. Specifically Bulgarian as I am trying to apply for it in India and see if I can pick it up in Turkey.

Went back to CP walked about had an Aloo Paratha (INR10/=) and a Samosa with Masala Dhal (INR5/=) for lunch. Yet again its been so long since I had that Samosa taste in my mouth wow…this is what makes me want to stay here for longer or travel some more in this country.

Watched a crappy Hindi movie as I had 1.5 hours to do nothing and went back to the Turkish Embassy at 3:30pm and decided to sit on the bench select some pictures that I have taken write part of this blog in my laptop and read “Digital Fortress” when the power ran out…5pm came and there were the travel agent representatives as well but no passports….

I met this Indian guy who was going to Turkey to get married to a Turkish girl and he was telling me that he had spent the past 1.5 months trying to get the paper work sorted out in India.

Apparently the Turkish authorities need to confirm that he is a mentally sound, single and healthy person who is fit to marry a Turk.

A doctor confirms the mental part after having a chat and confirms the healthy part after a blood test which has to be repeated in Turkey. The single part is apparently proved with the passport where in the Spouse section its blank.

It’s amazing the hassle people go through here to get documents attested. Something as simple as getting a passport is a complicated matter over here. My friend Mohit said it took him 6 months to get his passport. This guy who I met at the Turkish embassy said to, if you can get a letter from a Chief Executive Officer (or a higher up) in a public company then the process takes about a week.

Documents that need to be attested by the Turkish embassy must be first attested by the Ministry of External affairs (Sri Lankan equivalent foreign ministry). To get this attestation it must be attested by the sub-divisional magistrate. In addition the Turkish authorities in Turkey now want his election card in India as well (this I don’t know for what reason, looks like Sri Lanka and India are not the only places where red tape is prevalent)

Sorry to have diverted from the passport story I thought this would give one an idea on how things worked in India and Turkey when it comes to certain government procedures. Oiling palms is also a part of it although I didn’t mention it because it goes without saying these days.

The passports were finally brought at about 6:45pm apparently this is normal in the Turkish embassy (they also work according to Sri Lanka time) and apparently on Fridays it can get as late as 7:30pm. They gave the passports and when I gave my slip they said “Ah, same day Sri Lankan passport? Wait a little”. The guy went back to the embassy and brought my passport afterwards at about 7:20pm. The Indian guy I met was really nice he told me that he is going via PG area and that he will drop me.

Got to PG around 8:15pm and quickly checked email. I got my luggage from the hotel as I had already checked out and took a bus to Noida (INR11/=) in Uttara Pradesh which is about 1hr away from Delhi.

Met this journalist guy in the bus who is a financial crime reporter, he was staying close to my friend Rekha’s place and he walked with me until we found the house.

Ah finally it was great to be in a place like home. Rekha is really nice and her parents are very nice people as well. This is the first hospitality club (HC) member I am staying with, second one I am meeting after Mohit yesterday. First time in my life, I’m staying at a person’s house whom I have never met. By the way for all those who were sceptical about HC, join it, its great and it is probably the best way to meet local people and live like a local for a couple of days.

What’s really great about the trip so far is I have been having typical South and North Indian food every meal and every meal has been different.

Rekha was going out in the night and wanted me to join if I wasn’t tired, met a few of her friends and we went to a club in Noida. The entrance fee was quite steep in Sri Lankan standards (INR1000/=) but had to go check it out cause I have never been to a club in India. The DJ played Trans music right throughout the night. It was not crowded because people were celebrating Lohida (A Sikh festival).

You go into the club and then you have the dance floor which is about 20’X15’. On the side of the dance floor you get a staircase. Upstairs you get a balcony to look at the dance floor, places to sit. On the side there are some completely out of place ancient looking seats and some real funky seats on the other side. There is another floor and apparently you get private parties there.

I had a good time, I must admit one of the few places that you can dance anyway you want and everyone else is doing the same…..

Jehan this is for you, your dance master kinda moves with hands and legs waving all over can be done here without worrying about whether you will hit someone or not because everyone else is doing the same. I guess in a more packed night things might be different. Apparently the place can hold about 700 people.
In my thoughts from an entertainment “Utility” point of view (i.e. entertainment per amount spent), Sri Lanka is more efficient. To clarify more you go out, dance and have a good time. Same thing could have been achieved in SL for cheaper.

Got back around the 3:30am……


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb