Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 1st 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast on the streetBreakfast on the streetBreakfast on the street

I grab some eggs and toast on the main bazaar and soak up "India" at its finest.
I took the overnight bus from Udaipur with two girls (they chose to go with a twin sleeper and I got the first regular seat). After spending so much time in smaller cities, it was a bit of a shock getting to Delhi.

We immediately went to the Main Bazaar area to secure a hotel (Palace Hotel...but I end up switching the next day to the My Hotel which is down the street). The frist thing I noticed about Delhi's Main Bazaar area is how many Israeli's there were. They are EVERYWHERE. Even the signs for some shops are in Hebrew and the locals speak Hebrew. Very strange.

Later in the day, I bump into Gypo (my friend David who I traveled with from Tibet to Kathmandu) and we plan to meet the following day. I spend the night walking the streets and getting a feel for Delhi.

I spend the next day sight seeing and arranging my trip to Goa later in the week. I also get to DHL to pick up the MP3 player I ordered from home (thanks mom and dad for shipping it to me). Gypo and I meet up for some dinner. We take it easy as he has the "Delhi Belly" and I am tired from traveling. It's good to see him again and catch up on traveling stories.

I'm pretty exhausted by now and looking forward to seeing the Arabian Sea in Goa.

I say goodbye to Gypo and hope he is able to make it to Pakistan and then home to England. For me, it is off to the beach.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Jami' Masjid MosqueJami' Masjid Mosque
Jami' Masjid Mosque

Jami' Masjid, the largest mosqe in India can hold up to 25,000 people for prayer in this square.
Ghandi MemorialGhandi Memorial
Ghandi Memorial

here is where the remains of Ghandi reside. There is also a fabulous museum dedicated to his life which I spent two hours walking through.
Street CobblerStreet Cobbler
Street Cobbler

My hiking boots had become undone at the seam...but no worries as "anything is possible in India"...my peddle taxi driver brings me to this cobbler and he fixes it in 4 minutes for $1.25 USD. Amazing!
Feeding the cowFeeding the cow
Feeding the cow

He did not want my German chocolate cake
Bahá'í House of Worship Bahá'í House of Worship
Bahá'í House of Worship

Also known as the Lotus Temple as the roof resembles a lotus flower.
Qutb MinarQutb Minar
Qutb Minar

Built in the early 13th century a few kilometres south of Delhi, the red sandstone tower of Qutb Minar is 72.5 meters high, tapering from 2.75 m in diameter.


Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 30; qc: 153; dbt: 0.1795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb