Delhi Again


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello. Sorry i havent put a message up for a while. Last week i wasnt doing much really. Just my project and chilling. The project finished on Driday and on Sunday i came to Delhi, as youd probably guessed from the title.

Im having a good time in Delhi, and enjoying it more than when i was last here (despite now been a bit ill), when i think i was very over-awed by the whole experience. I wanted to come back so i could see if i could feel comfortable here and 'conquer' it, despite having a very tempting offer to go back to Pushkar for most of the week before my flight.

I havent been able to do as much as i wanted here as some of my time has been spent at the Thai embassy getting a Visa. Although i thought i didnt need one it appears as if they have changed the rules. So, even though i still might be able to go visa free, i thought it would be best to get one. However, im not sure they have given me the right one looking at the internet advice. So it might be that next week ill be writing my blog from a Thai prison in my blood. I suppose i could write a book about it. Im sure itll be fine.

Ive done a bit of sightseeing. Yesterday i went to Humayans tomb, and Safdarjangs tomb. They are both, obviously, tombs that were built during the Mughal era, when the taj mahal was built so they were very similar. For example, a kinda of water lake leading up to the front bit, and the tombs were symmetrical. I really liked both, though there wasnt a great deal to do. I also went to Khan Market which is famous for its book shops!

Today, after collenting my visa and explaing to a rickshaw driver that we agreed 40 repees not 40 pounds, I went to the Jantor Mantor and the underground market at Connaught place. The Jantor Mantor, which is a series of impressive astronomical devises, was fantastic. The man that designed this, a Mughal mujahadin, also desinged one i went to in Jaipur. He made five over the whole of India. This one is equally impressive, and a calm place to get away from the hussle and bussle of Delhi.

I now only have one more day in India, before flying to Thailand on Thursday. There I will meet Aidan (if they allow us in!). Tonight i plan to watch the cricket and tommorow im going to the Central Museum.

Anyway better go. I may put a post up tommorow but if not the next one i do will be from Thailand (hopefully). Take Care. Hope everyone is well.

James

Advertisement



20th April 2007

Hope you didn'y end up watching the cricket, I know I regretted it!
22nd April 2007

Cricket
Unfortunately i did. Embarrassing. Hope your travels are going well.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb