3 spoons of rice and ORS


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
June 13th 2012
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 28.6137, 77.1834

I would dearly love to beguile you with tales of beautiful lotus temples and ancient tombs, however, the most I saw of the nation's capital city was the inside of my hotel room and the street outside for about 200m each way!!!

Not being able to keep food down, in 40 degree plus heat is not an experience I care to repeat, although with the countries I have yet to come, I fear I shall not be able to avoid it! On arrival in Dehli, I was feeling slightly human, and went out for some noodles, from a Nepalese restaurant… it went pretty well, until the morning! Fortunately (if you can call it that!) it had confined itself to spewing only now, which I guess was a blessing. The following day was spent in bed, drinking water with Oral Rehydration Salts (ORS) in. They are horrendous to drink if you have never had one before…. Comparable to putting 2 tsps of salt in your tea rather than sugar! But hell they work! I was entertained by various tv programmes including Castle, Australian Masterchef, repeats of Big Bang and a few random films! I didn't have the energy to do much else, so was quite contented!

The following day I needed to escape the sodding room, and so persuaded Jay to babysit me for the afternoon…. We went for lunch… I managed 3 spoons of rice…. The guy in the restaurant asked me if there was something wrong with the food…. Once I explained, he smiled and packed me up a doggy bag for later. I also had some mash spuds later that day…. A step too far…. You can guess the outcome!

All in all my Delhi experience pretty much sucked!! Maybe next time I won't have Delhi Belly actually in Delhi!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb