Dust Swirling in the Night


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
October 25th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

India at LastIndia at LastIndia at Last

My first meal in India.
I made it. I am in India, and it wasn't easy. I remember being at a bar in Sapporo drinking with a friend of mine. In the course of the conversation told him I was going to India. He asked me if I was going for business or pleasure. I replied neither. That is true. I have come to India, Delhi more specifically, to experience it. Whatever that means. I have always wanted to to India, but I never thought I was ready before. Now that I've grown up a bit, I felt that it was finally time. They say that a visit to India changes you and that you don't come back the same person you were when you left. Well we shall see. I consider myself pretty even keel and I cannot imagine anything that I see will shatter my world view or outlook.

It is funny, but I almost didn't make it here tonight. I was so busy at work yesterday that I had to rush real hard to even make my flight to Tokyo. But when I got to Haneda airport it was to late to take the shuttle bus to my Narita airport hotel. So
Delhi NightDelhi NightDelhi Night

There is a strange temple lit up in the distance.
I had no hotel reservation last night. So I did the Tommy No Papers thing and caught the last subway into Central Tokyo. I drank from midnight until about 5:30am, rocking it Shinjuku style. So this morning I hauled my still drunk self to Narita and away I went.

Delhi has been a breeze so far. I was picked up by the hotel driver at the airport and now I am lounging in my plush $200 a night hotel. Luxury has its benefits. I decided that since I've been working so hard at work this year I need a bit of comfort this Fall break. But make no mistake this is definitely India. Outside my room there is a poolside party going on with Bollywood style dancers on a stage. It is all dark and sultry with flashes of color.

Delhi is gritty and real, and just plain gritty real. There are people wandering around everywhere, even on the airport access roads. Dust swirling in the night. I saw my first cow peacefully wandering in the road. I saw girls in beautiful saris whizzing by colorfly on that back of motorbikes. I am so exhausted because I didn't sleep at all last night. So I have just ordered room service, delicious murgh makhanwala and kabila dal. Now it is midnight and I am going to bed. Tomorrow I take on Delhi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb