Nuclear Weapon But No Wi-Fi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
October 3rd 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was probably a little optimistic thinking that, while not widespread, wi-fi would occassionally be available. Hence the reason I brought the laptop. I mean, this country possesses nuclear weapons. Being a nuclear power isn't what it used to be.

There is Texas summer hot, bikram yoga hot and then there is Delhi hot. This place is smoking. And that is with the sun blocked by the constant haze over this place.

This place is fascinating, at times discouraging, challenging all at once. There are constantly "touts" coming up to you trying to sell you excurisions (One wanted me to book a trip to Kashmir with him. He even went as far as producing letters of recommendation that were no doubt written by 4th graders); taking you to the "real" tourist offices (I had one tell me the map I got from the official government tourist office was a fake); trying to get you to hire them as a guide around Delhi. They all have elaborate interesting stories to try and build trust. And they are as persistent. You pretty much have to tell them something just short of f*^& off to get them to leave. It becomes a game and half way enjoyable after several such encounters.

I am looking forward to experiencing Indian train travel tomorrow. Off to Rishikesh - on the Ganges and capital of yoga.


Advertisement



4th October 2008

awesome
I'm so excited the travel journal as begun! I hope you are settling in. What's the time difference there? Keep the entries coming!! PS Anna loves looking through her photo album and finding pictures of Uncle Mark!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb