Delhi Distress


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
September 21st 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First off, sorry everyone that I sort of trailed off on the writing near the end! I still kept some of the photos up to date. (http://www.flickr.com/mikebos84) - I will add more once I start to go through the 750 on my computer! But I thought that not many people are reading the blog anymore so I contact through email. Turns out when I get back people still like to read the blog - Thanks guys 😊 So I will write a couple posts to finish off my trip! Then use my blog again - http://mikebos84.blogspot.com/ See you there.

When I last left everyone, I mentioned I was going to go to Chitwan National Park. I was debating whether to go or not, but I found one package that I bartered the guy down to a good price for a three day deal. I really wanted to ride an elephant, and I wasn't sure if I would get the chance to go in India so I took the package because then I wouldn't have to organize all the separate excursions.

Anyway, the bus ride there was painful as all bus rides in Nepal were, but the experience was really good! I got to see the one horned rhino and I also rode on an elephant, and bathed with one! (If you can call it bathing. More like rolling around in the river - which the elephants pee and poop in like 4 year old kids) On the way back, there was a big landslide on the road and it was blocked in both directions for almost 24 hours! The cars were lined up kilometers, and eventually they let us pass on food and myself and 3 others had to find alternate transportation to Kathmandu. No worries, many buses were going that direction!

I took a short flight to New Delhi, even though it cost a little more, I didn't want to take a 2-3 day journey like the last one to Delhi! Plus, i was running out of days, so this way I could justify it. When I got to Delhi it was not like anywhere else I had been in India. There were a lot more modern parts to it than the other cities, but you could still tell that it was India, and really it was just certain sections of the city. Probably where the foreign diplomats and the rich people live.

I took a day trip to Agra, the city of the Taj Mahal. What an amazing place! It is like no other. When you walk into the park with the Taj in it, you enter through a gate, so it all comes into view at once and you are immediately struck by the sense that the view is perfect! And it was pretty close to it. I enjoyed Agra for the day, but the guesthouse I stayed in ended up having a hole in the roof making the floor pretty wet when it rained. Needless to say, I was not happy, and after a long time of arguing I got my money back. I ended up spending the night in the train station dorm rooms which was a lot cheaper, and nicer anyways.

I did a day of shopping in Delhi before I left. I needed some nice clothes to take to my Opa's reunion and this was the place to get them! I was ready to leave though by the time I got to the airport. I wont miss the constant hassles and the crowds, but I'll miss the smells, and the people and the uniqueness. If that makes sense! I am off to Europe. Where I can have some real dairy and beef 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb