Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Delhi determined to see as many monuments as I could fit in. Last year I read William Dalrymples fascinating book 'City of Djinns' on the way home from Delhi and spent the next few days looking at internet photos of all the things I wished I had seen in the flesh! Despite the heat, Christine and I managed to see the Old Fort, the Red Fort, The Jama Masjid (Friday Mosque) Begampur Mosque and Humayan's Tomb. There is still plenty left for another trip, but I think it may be a few years off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The Old Fort (Purana Quila) Sher MandalThe Old Fort (Purana Quila) Sher Mandal
The Old Fort (Purana Quila) Sher Mandal

This was the spot where, on 24 January, 1556 Humayun slipped off the stairs, missed his footing and stumbled to his death.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb