Its my party, and I'll smile if I want to!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
April 10th 2008
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wasn’t going to write again so soon, but its 1am on the night of my birthday and I’m feeling very smiley so I thought I’d share it with you all. Thank you everyone for all your messages in various forms. I started my day by opening the cards and presents you sent which was completely lovely, I also got lots of lovely emails during the day. Bless you all. Today’s Bengali class was uncharacteristically successful and my teacher also bought me a present. How gorgeous is that?

VSO invited me to a special birthday lunch today with all the staff in the office. We had a gorgeous meal of all my Indian favourites and felt really spoilt. After Thali they produced this amazing cake on which they even scribed my name - I was so chuffed. They then introduced me to a ‘VSO custom’. Basically, the person whose birthday it is has the first bite of cake. Sounds good me thinks. What they don’t tell you is that the rest of the slice is then diligently smeared across your face as an audience clap, sing and laugh at you - all very pleasant :-). This is clearly slightly wasteful of fantastic cake, but very funny nevertheless. They clapped and sung - I just laughed, a lot. It helped that the cake was chocolate ice cream cake and thus particularly yummy. The VSO staff have been so amazing since we arrived, really making a special effort to welcome us and make our Delhi month fun. Yay them!

After my very public smearing, I decided I needed a little me-time and so went wandering. I found the national exhibition centre which wasn’t currently exhibiting anything, a fair-ground which was not yet open for the evening, a zoo which had just closed for the day and a fort which I decided I couldn’t afford to go in. All in all, a successful trip I think you’ll agree! But, hey I loved it. I still got to see more of Delhi and enjoyed the freedom of just wandering around in the sunshine by myself.

This evening the entire group joined me for a birthday meal. I chose to go to an Italian restaurant as I’d not seen any pasta for a month and was craving a change from rice. Thankfully it was a good choice, everyone enjoyed it and we had a great old time. Some of the group made/bought me cards and presents which is so lovely of them, they even bought me my dinner.

A few of us have spent the last few hours chatting on the roof. There’s a beautiful view, a WIFI connection, peace and quiet, 25 degrees and a warm breeze - take a few drinks up there and you’re happy as a lamb! Also today, I found out that we did get our visa extensions which is very good news, and that I do have accommodation to move into in Kolkata on Sunday. There was a definite risk of being in temporary accommodation as it’s sometimes hard to get affordable places that meet the criteria, but my organisation has come up trumps. All I know about it at this point is that it’s my own separate flat and is within walking distance of both Rosalyn (my VSO colleague) and my office. Hurrah! So a day of yet more joy. My joy bank is definitely in credit at the moment, long may it continue. Lots of love. xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



11th April 2008

Food glorious food!
Hey Stuart, it's such a joy to hear you're enjoying such a light reign on your diet!
11th April 2008

Ahhhhh!
Ahhhhh! What a nice day! Happy to hear you had a lush birthday! Esp like the cake on your face! Send me your address, when you know it. Paulo xx
22nd April 2008

hi
What's happening now? Are you in Calcutta yet? Hope all is groovy. All good here. Little T is going to be called Big T soon with all the impressive weight she's gaining. This chocolate party looks very fun. xoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb