May need to take a few things back!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Unbelieveable how a few days can make so much difference. Don't get me wrong. I'm still really excited about the time ahead, but no longer can I use the same amount of joy as I was feeling on Tuesday.

I got ill on Wedsnesday afternoon - becoming the third one of us to get Delhi Belly. Thankfully I've not had it too badly, but I've not slept since then, I've hardly eaten and I'm absolutely wasted - weak is not the word for it! Of course this all saps your emotional reserves as well and so I'm struggling to stay positive at the moment. Added to this are the inevitable, but relentless waves of practical issues that India throws at you -including getting access to the Internet (there are Internet Cafes everywhere, but its not quite that simple) and getting the food you need. I have already got to the point where I never want to see another curry again. I cannot bare curry for breakfast. If your in the city, its no problem I'm sure, you can get want you want, but we're in the burbs - a whole different kettle of fish. We also have almost no money and so can't afford any Western food that is on offer. I know I'll be fine when I get to Kolkata, but in the meantime, I'm really struggling - especially as my stomach is beyond fragile right now!

The weather hear has also changed. I've just read on the web that its supposed to be heavy snow in London on Sunday, here, we're having a heat wave - 38 degrees on Weds! Even for local standards thats unseasonably hot. To be fair, I'm loving it, during the day I'm really comfortable, but I am struggling at night as we can't open the windows.

So I have to say, our Induction thus far has been hugely impressive. We've had 3 Bengali lessons and are learning at quite a pace. We've also had some pretty inspirational lectures from the Social Institute of Delhi - a left wing Government research centre - about culture, caste, social norms, etc.

We've been invited to celebrate Holi at one of the VSO staff's homes and so I'm SO excited. If I can be away from a toilet long enough, I'm going to go into old Delhi later to by some white clothes, some florescent paints and lots of 'Misty' - the local sweets that you take as an offering.

It should be that as of today, I'll have a mobile phone number and so will be sure to pass it to you. Also, good news re postage, looks like post is quicker and more reliable than expected, but I dont want to speak too soon.

Right, must away. Stay smiley. happy holidays.
Stuart/Harry. xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb