Our Indian adventure begins


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
March 15th 2024
Published: March 15th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Mum and I are on a 16-day guided tour of Northern India and are super excited about the first visit to India for both of us. As many of you would know, we lost my darling dad and mum’s husband of 63 years Dennis last year and I thought it would be a great way to help both of us heal to share an overseas trip. Dad was never that keen on visiting India but I knew Mum was interested so floated the idea with her in August last year. Fortuitously, one of our favourite travel company‘s Encounter Travel (founded and run by my sister’s life long bestie Justine Waddington) was running a tour and we jumped at the chance to sign up.

I‘m writing this post on day zero of our tour which will take in the northern highlights of Delhi, Udaipur, Jodhpu, Pushkar, Jaipur, Agra and Varanasi. I’m calling it day zero because we’ve arrived a day before the official tour starts to settle in and adjust the time zone change (five and a half hours different than our home time).

So I’m officially in Delhi but so far have only seen the inside and outside of the Indira Gandhi International Airport, the world going past in the dark during our airport transfer last night, and the inside of the Radisson Hotel! This afternoon we‘re going on a pre-tour excursion with some of our fellow tour peeps.

The tour group of 16 are all here early too, and we’ve met them all either on the flight over or at breakfast this morning - all really interesting people from different parts of Australia and I’m looking forward to get to know them all.

So strap in and enjoy the ride. I’ll also be including some of my photos (taken with my beloved SLR camera), although today’s pics are phone ones - one on the flight and a shot from our hotel room window.

Advertisement



15th March 2024

Following 😊
Looking forward to sharing your holiday
16th March 2024

Go Go
You’re certainly in a great part of India and thanks Nicola for sharing. Have fun!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb