Cows in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Qutub Minar
July 14th 2017
Published: April 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

My first time in India left me in wonder at the strange sight of cows wandering the streets of Delhi freely. In my travels I've witnessed cows sleeping peacefully in the middle of busy streets and winding hill station roads, only to have the buses and traffic veer their path around the holy cow, leaving the sleeping beast undisturbed.

Its a known fact that cows in India are worshipped. Sacred animals of Lord Krishna.

Now that's fine and dandy...but I'm from the United States, the country known for eating beef. Although I spent my years travelling abroad avoiding cheeseburgers and steaks until my yearly trip back to California, there was something about living in India eating strictly vegetarian food that made me just plain old miss cheeseburgers.

Hell even in the McDonalds in India the only meat filled burger you can find is a chicken burger (and I don't recommend eating the meat hence why I preferred to stick to strictly vegetarian foods during my stay.) But even the McDonald's Veggie burger doesn't manage to satiate my hunger for that sacred animal walking peacefully in the streets outside.

Now Hindus theoretically are not supposed to eat meat or touch meat at all, however in today's modern world you'll find non-veg families. Even in my personal circle of Hindu friends I find the vegetarians eating eggs regularly.

But you can't ignore the worshipped cows in India. I've even had cab drivers stop and give the cows digging in the piles of trash a bunch of bananas as part of their religious practice. So why resist it?

I can just eat a steak when I go back to the States any ways...

Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb