Being White in India with Krystal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
July 12th 2017
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Beauty is an important thing for women across the world. As a California girl myself I cant deny that I grew up around a more shallow thinking of what defines beauty. My experience in India has found me in a crowd full of Indians--wherein I was the ONLY white person in the entire village/room/space--and never have I felt less awkward. Imagine all the men and women staring at me every time I step outside. The terrible feeling that every movement I make is being watched and criticized is enough to make me squirm in my clothes. If I wear Indian clothes, their constant gawking makes me feel as if I didn't match colors correctly, and if I wear Western clothes they stare at me as if I'm some sort of alien. And yes...I definitely feel like an alien.

I don't understand Indian women's fetish for buying skin whitening products, especially since while they are trying to whiten themselves I always enjoyed to try to darken my skin by sun tanning as often as possible. But the grass is always greener I suppose. So while they put on layers of skin whitening beauty products and creams I search the markets high and low for any form of product that wont make me even more white than I already am. (No sun tanning here!) Luckily for me there are a number of Aryuvedic beauty products that I have discovered and swear by. (My skin looks fantastic and I don't know if its because of the vegetarian food or the aryuvedic products or a combination of the two but Hallelujah!)

Here are some tips on surviving being white in India:

1) Don't get upset every time someone stares at you (or else you will always be upset!!!)

2) Many Indians have very bad stereotypes and notions about us white girls in the back of their mind (Maybe from watching too much American Reality shows?) PROVE THEM WRONG!!! Don't be THAT GIRL that gives the rest of us foreigners a bad reputation.

3) No matter how much of the culture you understand or the language you speak or the low salary you earn.. THEY WILL ALWAYS CHARGE YOU MORE MONEY. Period. Deal with it.

4) Have a positive attitude and don't take life too seriously. Sure it will catch you off guard when your sitting alone some place and a young Indian boy sees you and screams excessively loud "YOUR WHITE!!!!" but hey, just look at your exposed arms and shriek "HOLY CRAP YOUR RIGHT!!!" (And then you can break his arm of course)

5) Be modest. Just because the mob of men outside your door waiting to catch a photo of you might make you feel like a celebrity, don't go overboard. Wear respectful clothes, have respect for yourself and don't be afraid to be tough with the crowd. (Its ok to say "NO PHOTOS!")

Having said that, the majority of Indians I've run across are actually very shy around me at first (don't ask me why) but more often than not they become very good friends and even like family members. Indian women will jump at the chance to get to play Barbie with you (their own life sized doll! Woo!) and men will ask you curious questions such as "Is it true that when blonde people get old...their hair turns black????"

You gotta love them for that! :D



Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com

And follow my Instagram and Facebook Page! https://www.instagram.com/kryskolumbustravel/ & https://www.facebook.com/krystalkelly009/

Advertisement



7th May 2013

Beauty is an important thing for women across the world.
Is it true that when blonde people get old...their hair turns black????" .... lol this is funny =))
8th May 2013

Hello
Thanks for your comment! (And yes my friend seriously asked me that question! haha)
7th May 2013

fantastic KK
you just rock KK. I love reading your post on incredible India!! you really know the soul of this country and trying to get mixed up with its flavours.Fantastic!! well written and very good observations...I would like to meet you soon to know more about it.
8th May 2013

Hello
Thanks for your comment Manisha! Please add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IndiaWithKrystal And keep following my travels and stories! Contact me anytime :)

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb