Connections


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Umri
April 5th 2007
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just got done checking my e-mail which had about a dozen e-mails from friends and family. Most of them were worth my time...no, all of them were worth my time even the one's debating whether Rodney should be black or white. Staying with the race issue, I was asked today what "Macaca" meant. Let's just say that it's a bit uncomfortable explaining that term to an Indian who doesn't speak too much English. Awkward.

Reading all those e-mails reminds me of how blessed I am to have such lifelong friends and such a loving and caring family. It also helps me to overcome the minor distractions that become major distractions and focus on the big picture. God is so big. The body of Christ is so big. I'm in awe and I'm eternally thankful to you all.

My mass e-mail that I sent out a while back was very realistic, but I'm afraid that it may have been a bit too gloomy. So, here's an Umri story that's a bit more encouraging. A couple of nights ago there was a full moon and we just happened to have five emergency calls that night (we usually have one or two) and they all came in a matter of two hours. The injuries were varied, and seeing that many people come in reminded me of why Umri is a great place, and why Umri is a worthwhile ministry. It helps and serves people in a very real, tangible way.

One of the patients who came in required a minor surgery (i'll censor out the details because I feel like it). Of course, I was curious and wanted to observe, so I scrubbed in for the first time. Dr. Prashant had to teach me the correct way to wash my hands. As we were preparing to enter the operation theater (OT), the power went out (normal for Umri and central India), and a cat strolled into the area where we were changing our clothes (also pretty typical for Umri and central India). After shooing the cat away and turning on the emergency generator, we went into the OT. Dr. Prashant was going to assist, but upon seeing me, Dr. Mrs. Pratap invited me to assist. Not knowing what I was doing, I agreed. Once again Dr. Prashant had to coach me as I put on gloves and another gown and attempted to keep my hands sterile. My role was very minor (I just held one piece of equipment), but I was up close and personal with a surgery and large amounts of blood for the first time. I just kept thinking to myself...don't faint, don't pass out, toughen up. My heart was racing and my breath was a little too quick for comfort, but after five minutes I became a bit more composed. The surgery was a great success, and I was elated afterward. In celebration I joined Dr. Prashant and Dr. Bharat (junior doctors, fyi) for some chicken butter masala and fish curry. It was quite tasty and we stuffed ourselves like it was Thanksgiving. A great ending to a great night. Hope you enjoyed the story and I hope that it brightens your opinion of Umri. Love you all.
Brett

Advertisement



5th April 2007

amazing
That is a great story. Way to carry on the Malone male family characteristic of story telling. We are nearing up on Spring Break and the natives are getting restless. Much love, we miss you...
6th April 2007

what a great story
I really enjoyed that one. that must have been the miscarriage one you told us about on the phone. Hey, for whatever it's worth, a cold front just blew through and dropped 8 inches of snow on us today!!! April 5th!!!! our Maunday Thursday service was cancelled and mom and I got a movie, put logs on the fire and stayed at home. We have good friday off tomorrow, Crystal and David are flying in tomorrow night and we will drive to Muskogee to Jessica's wedding on Sat. OU has their red/white football game for $5 on Sat.......ba humbug.....can't go. if we had no wedding, I would be there. love you Dad

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb