I'm OK!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
January 7th 2005
Published: January 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey! Well its been a while since I last wrote in here so I'd better say what I've been up to oh and yes Leky I'm OK - I left Chennai three days before the tsunami hit! Apparently StG's and the children are all fine, its only the coastline that was completely wrecked. It was still rather scary though!
After a few days in Goa I got so very sick of it so I decided to escape from the ravers and package holiday lot and get back into proper India. New years was spent in a fantastic little town called Hampi, which completely looks like something out of Indiana Jones with its hindu ruins (complete with elephant and monkeys) and breath taking landscape. I stayed in a hut up on the mountain side to get to which I had to get a coracle - great fun with a backpack. The temples were really quite fun to look around though I was some what harassed with being hissed at by very terrioral monkeys and groups of indian tourists who kept coming up to me asking for my autograph or to have their picture taken with me!
I saw in 2005 with a group of Israeli backpackers round a bonfire with some beer and a couple of guitars, far more fun than Goa! Since leaving Hampi I have been to a muslim town called Bijapur, ate some dodgy chapattis, spent thursday throwing up, ran away from a dirty old man who kept trying to get me to go out to dinner with him and now I'm in Pune, which is one of the largest university towns in India. Tonight I'm going to an Indian jazz club...God knows what that will be like! I have a few more stops to make and then by wed I should be in bombay. Spk later.




Advertisement



8th January 2005

Very, very glad to hear you're okay! (I'll txt lecky to tell her you updated) And glad to hear the children are okay too. Wow! A real life Indiana Jones-style place :D Keep having fun and stay safe! - Katie
10th January 2005

It's great to hear you're alright! After a worrying couple of days I guessed you were after I got back to a comp and checked your login date, but it's still good to hear from you yourself! Seems like you're having the time of your life still! How could you, while there's exams going on back here? Only kidding. Keep us posted! - Mike

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb