But First They Had To Unlock The Plane


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
August 9th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Taj Mahal Hotel in MumbaiTaj Mahal Hotel in MumbaiTaj Mahal Hotel in Mumbai

Our hotel was awesome!
I'M HERE!!!!
And it only took me a day and a half. I took some heavy duty sleeping pills on the flight to Frankfurt and and then attempted to watch some bad movies and read on the absurdly long flight from Frankfurt to Mumbai, and I only freaked out a little on the flight, and the Indian couple next to me were really nice and distracted me the whole time we were landing but asking me all these things about my life, like what I eat everyday, which I thought was really random, until we landed and I realized what they were doing. But finally at about 12:30 last night Mumbai time, we touched down. And then they had to open the door. Which it turns out is harder to do than I thought. It took about an hour. We were flying on a 747, which is one of those massive planes with two floors, and I thought, did they try any of the other doors? Plus, let's really do it Indian style and get all 600 people on this flight to push at the same time, and I'm betting you can get that sucker open. Eventually they did open it,
Gateway to IndiaGateway to IndiaGateway to India

What a way to say get the f* out.
but they couldn't find a staircase to attach to the plane. So we waited some more. Finally, however, we did get off, I met Aly, and got to the very nice hotel that we're staying in right now. From the business center I can see the Gateway to India, which is built in 16th century style, but was really a monument to say goodbye to the British. The breakfast room looks right out on Bombay Harbor and Elephanta Island and our room looks out on the pool (not as good, but as its not raining this morning, I'll take it). Aly's got one more meeting this morning and then we're going to go see some of Mumbai before we take off for Delhi tomorrow. Besides what I'm looking at right now, and some shopping, there's not too much to see in Mumbai. Luckily though, the heat hasn't been oppressive, so I'll just have to wait for tomorrow in Delhi.
I haven't really taken any pictures so I can't upload then, plus I don't really see anyway how around here.... I s'posed everyone will just have to wait! (Or go look up the Taj Mahal Palace and Tower - that our hotel, and Gateway to India, cause that's all I'd put up anyway.)

Alright, going exploring now!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb