Memorable Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
April 18th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Sunday, was a pretty full day but I would have to say the evening was the most memorable of my time in Mumbai. Let's just start at the beginning of the day with my trip to Elephanta Island and go from there.

Elephant Island
Long, hot, sweaty ferry ride
Check! Now I've seen it!

I had a nice late start in the morning (yes, I really like to sleep in!) Well, not too late (8:30) since I had to be down for breakfast by 9AM. 😊 There is an 80 year old lady from what I gather that lives at the Y. I had exchanged a few words with her the night before at dinner so I thought what the heck, I'll see if she wants some company over breakfast. Well she really welcomed it and boy is she a talker (daughter in Chicago, son in Mumbai, 20 years knowing the staff, cataracts, diabetes, the rooms being "damn cheap", noisy construction, being bossy...the list goes on). I would say I listened to her for at least 45 minutes before I realized the time and had to excuse myself.

I dilly dallied a bit around my room before
Elephanta IslandElephanta IslandElephanta Island

Me and Shangale at Elephanta Island.
heading over to the Regent Hotel to pick up Shangale and then head to India Gate to pick up ferry tickets to Elephanta Island. We got onto a ferry right away and only had to wait about 5 minutes for departure. They sure did squeeze a lot of people on there and it wasn't until about 1/2 hour into the trip that I noticed a license that was issued to the boat and it stated the passenger capacity to be 36...I think we were at least 50 because of all of the kids! Yikes! Count my lucky stars now that all went smoothly...since I'm writing this after the fact you can safely assume there were no major incidents. The boat ride was just over an hour. It seemed pretty long because the wooden benches we were sitting on were not the most comfortable. It was amusing to people watch though. Lots of excited kids. A young couple. A group of young boys being boys. We eventually docked where everyone then makes a mad dash for the exit. Not worth being trampled over so we wait for most to disembark before even standing up to get off. Once we finally get
A visit with the JainsA visit with the JainsA visit with the Jains

Tanya, Mom, me and Karen
off the boat it is about a 1 km walk I'm told along the concrete pier. Or you can catch a train ride for 6Rs. We didn't have that option because I saw them repairing the train as we walked along the pier.

To get up to the caves it is a 120 step climb past dozens of vendors selling every souvenir imaginable (whilst listening to the India/Pakistan cricket match). Normally not a huge challenge but with the heat and crowded conditions it was a bit of a struggle for me. Or perhaps frustrating because everyone walks super slow! After paying entrance fees we set off to check out the caves. The first cave was pretty impressive because a lot of the stone carvings were more or less intact. The other caves that followed were less impressive and disappointing. In fact some of what there was to "see" were only empty rooms! We wandered around for about an hour or so and then watched the monkeys from a distance. I couldn't believe the number of monkeys and stray dogs up there. We slowly made our way back down to the ferries but not before checking out the stalls and
More pics with the Jains.More pics with the Jains.More pics with the Jains.

Me, Karen, Akhilesh.
grabbing a bite to eat for lunch. By the time the ferry brought us back to India Gate it was almost 4PM. I should really get going! I need to pick up some sweets and I have yet to call Tanya to figure out our meeting point.

I didn't want to arrive at the Jain household empty handed so I set out to find the Camy sweets shop as suggested by the hotel staff. Hmm, I don't see it. Then I was directed to another place...they don't have sweets for sale. Then another place that was "down the block." More like 6 or more blocks! But that's okay. I think I asked at least 3 people on my way there if I was headed in the right direction cuz I kept walking and walking and saw nothing. Mission eventually accomplished and I headed back to the hotel where I called up Tanya. Man oh man was that phone box a sauna! I was a bit embarrassed to come out of there because I was sweating profusely...definitely not very lady like. lol So goes without saying I took a quick shower and got a cab. Thank goodness the hotel receptionist and security guard helped me to negotiate a fixed price cab fare for me.

Hospitality
Jains really know what it means
Really made my trip!

It was about 45 minutes in the cab to get to Linking Road in Khar West. The cheeky taxi driver tried to eek out an additional 30Rs out of me. No way Jose! After a bit of patience I made it across the street to the Mc D's to wait for Tanya. Being the only Chinese girl in the vicinity, I stuck out a bit and attracted some attention, especially from the wandering street vendor boys. 1) Guy selling metal food storage containers. "Maybe next time?" "Or hey, why don't you buy them as a gift for the friend you are waiting for." 2) Shoe shine boy #1. Very chit chatty. Then he tells me he is from Jaipur. Have you been? And then the sob story of how he'd be able to make more money if he had a shoe shine box. I think he could tell I wasn't going to give up any rupees and he eventually moved on. 3) Shoe shine boy #2. Once again very chit chatty. Then starts telling me he too is from Jaipur and the need for a shoe shine box. This kid was way more persistent and even tries to guilt trip me by saying he's really hungry. And then he points to his map selling friend and tells me his is really hungry too...meanwhile map boy is motioning with his hand to his mouth. No rupees to give up from his lady! In fact I grabbed hold of my bag just a little tighter! Eventually they too moved on because they realized that I'm not gonna fall for their sob story.

Finally Karen (hope I spelled that correctly...) to the rescue. Tanya's younger sister. Phew! Finally my ride (chariot...haha) has come to rescue me. We drive to the lovely Jain household where I met Mum and Dad. Everyone is so nice and friendly and Auntie can't decide what to make for dinner. Good thing I'm really agreeable and eventually say "surprise me!" Then I felt a tad bad that they had to step out for a bit to get a few key ingredients! So Tanya and Karen and I relaxed in the living room chatting and getting to know one another. It was really nice.

Before I knew it, dinner was ready. Oh it is so nice to have a home cooked meal including fresh chapatti! All the food was so delish and I couldn't help myself and over ate! Surprise, surprise. lol We chatted some more and took a few snaps for memories. There's talk that they might come over to Canada either in May or November...hopefully November so that I'll be able to see them again and I'll be able to reciprocate the same hospitality for them.

Tanya, Karen and their cousin (Tanya if you're reading this I can't remember your cousins name!) were all kind enough to all come for a car ride to bring me "home" to the Y.

I was telling them that the tour the day before included a "Bombay by Night" feature but I was seeing more on the current ride home! I think I kept the car entertained for the ride home although there was this one car with a boy that was stuffing his face with McD's that was quite amusing. I guess it was funny because in India they drive on the left (meaning the driver is on the right hand side) but this car had the driver on the left. So the gorging boy was in the normal drivers seat and it was the most hilarious sight. Since it was close to midnight the traffic was pretty calm compared to the madness of 6PM.

I couldn't express enough how thankful I was to be able to meet the Jains and experience their big open hearts...just like generous Uncle Vijay...obviously runs in the family! An example of the Jain welcome. Not only was I invited to their home for dinner but I was surprised to receive some wonderful gifts as well and was able to meet some of the most hospitable and accommodating people in India. But my fave was when they asked me..."do you need any money?" I was almost floored. That is going beyond the call of duty! I jokingly said 6 million would suffice. haha

Train back to Delhi
First class is the way to go
Bye Bye to Mumbai

So now I'm having a lazy Monday since my train does not depart until 5PM. So I checked out of my hotel by lunch time today, grabbed a bite to eat and then wandered the streets a little bit more before heading to the train station.

The helpful security guard was out of uniform when I was leaving the hotel and he said he was also heading to Mumbai Central (but to catch one of the local trains) as well and if I wanted to share a cab there. Well, okay. He started to tell me that he's excited to be learning English and really enjoys getting a chance to practice his English. Then he proceeded to tell me he was headed home to his village to visit his Mummy and brother...funny to hear an adult refer to his mother as Mummy. lol Then we get to the station and Mr. Security Guard stuck around to make sure I knew exactly where it was I would be going before heading to his train. I only pointed out to him on the massive billboard that it is platform 3 at least three times and I'll just have to go to the enquiries desk to find out my cabin number. Then it hit me like a ton of bricks why he kept hanging around when he asked me..."did you want a drink or something?" Guess he wanted to chat some more... 😊 Guess when he was asking me questions in the taxi like "When will you come back to Mumbai?" more than once or "Are you married?" That I should have clued in. lol

I found my cabin number after pushing my way to the front of the enquiries counter..H1-D..and made my way to platform #3. I was a bit early so just sat around waiting for the train to arrive. When I finally boarded and got to cabin D I was sadly disappointed to see three old men there. Sigh...this is gonna be a long train ride. But sitting there for a couple of minutes they ask me if it would be okay to change seats with this one gentleman that has a seat in Cabin E. What a blessing in disguise because I ended up staying with a lovely family from Mumbai...Raj, Rakha, Mahak and Palak. Really friendly family. In fact so nice and friendly I felt like a part of their family...well for 17 hours at least...More on them on my next entry since I've been on this free internet at the hotel for way too long now. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb