Mumbai, Delhi and back into the arms of Swami Rama.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
June 26th 2010
Published: June 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Kaivalyadharma was quite sad, even though it was a bit like a prison at times. I had learned so much that there was no turning back from yoga and I had also made many, many great friends. But it was time to head off to Mumbai to stay at a 5 star hotel with Kerry, a friend from Adelaide and to catch up with my roomie Shilpa.

The Trident in Mumbai, right on the water front was pure luxury after the ashram and being on the 20th floor felt like we were out at sea. Shipla was a wonderful hostess and took us out and about Mumbai. We saw and went to places that we would have never found on our own and had some great meals. I especially loved going to Leopold’s and if you haven’t read Shantaram, do it! One of the best books I have ever read. I was quite surprised with Mumbai, it is quite a well laid out city and I hope to come back sometime. Will you show me around Shilpa?

Then it was time for the train and to head to Delhi. Kerry had never been on an Indian train before, so to ease him in a bit I booked a first class 2 berth cabin. It was lovely although the air-con was so cold that I had to put socks and a jumper on and ask for a blanket. I got a big quilt instead. Lovely. The food was delicious too. I still don’t think that I have convinced Kerry that travelling by train is the way to go, but he coped.

The Imperial Delhi. OMG! Way, way our of my league. Have been there and done that in a past life but now I am happy to have a bed with no rats running around underneath, a toilet (squat will do) and a cold water tap and a bucket. Well this was the top of the tree, all thanks to Kerry. Funny though, I soon settled in and made myself enjoy it.  The pool was glorious as was the charming Italian man I met in it. I seem to still have it even though I don’t have any intention to use it, whatever it is!

Taxi, train, taxi and now I am back at Swami Rami Sadhaka Grama Ashram in Rishikesh with a lot more knowledge about yoga than I had when I was here last year. Kerry leaves tomorrow but I think I might be here for a while. Feels like home.

P.S. Sorry for any typos and spelling mistakes, you have to work quickly here while the power is on, no time for checking!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



26th June 2010

Somewhere in Delhi?
It looks too grand for anywhere we ate in Delhi. Where is it??!!
28th June 2010

i feel like i havent seen india even one percent,so many weathers ,so many places;maybe someday............
11th July 2010

PHOTOS
Hi Buffy, Back to the land of the living - otherwise known as reality! It was great to see my sister in Perth last week and of course to be home again with Peter and the cats! I had a fabulous time and keep thinking of the ashram - I will definately return there again and thanks for introducing me to it! All is fine at home - Peter went and purchased a treadmill, so we have no excuse for morning walks! The weather has been really cold and wet - a far cry from 42oC in Delhi!!!! I met the most incredible people on my last night in Delhi and will send a separate email detailing what happened - another "Cowra co-incidence!" Take care, I am guessing you are in Nepal now? Kxx

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb