Another sleepless night on a bus!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 29th 2006
Published: March 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, Steph and I arrived in Mumbai after another 12 hour journey. I am really looking forward to the day when I don't have to take these overnight buses anymore. One more to Goa and we should be done. This ride was not much better then the others. Actually, I may have feared for my life more on this one because the driver was insane. He kept weaving in and out of trafic, missing transport trucks in the other lane by inches! YIKES! I can not believe the size of this City. It is absolutely huge. But, I can say one thing, it is the cleanest City that I have been to in India. And, there is no cow poop on the streets so I can actually look around as I walk instead of looking at my feet. We did not do much the first day here. We pretty much slept the afternoon away after our long two days of travel and "no sleep". Today (second day in Mumbai), we spent the day exploring the City by foot. It has some quite impressive century old buildings. It kinda reminds me sometimes of the Old Quebec City... only the buildings are more spread out and there are not so many. We are staying the the tourist area near the Indian gate called Calaba. It is pretty nice but we walked about 4 km today all the way to Chowpatty beach. What a walk. Man, was I happy to pull out a book and read in a cafe for 2 hours. We took a taxi back! Tomorow we will be heading down to Goa via overnight bus... the last one. Before we go, we will be checking out the jewelery market. YIPEEEE! Hopefully I will find some cheap silver souvenirs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb