Bombay


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello

We took a 5 AM train into Mumbai and arrived in the early afternoon. We took taxis down to the India Gate and then just did the lonely planet walking tour. We saw Victoria station, The Prince of Wales museum, the town hall, and lots more. The city looks really European, much more than any other place I have seen in India. The buildings all remind me of London, but then there are all the things that make you know you are still in India.

We went out for drinks to some bar and they actually had Bacardi Breezers, I was not sure where I was for a second. Then the lounge singer started and we made a hasty exit, haha. It was Saturday night in Mumbai so we decided to try a club that was listed in the lonely planet. This club was called Polyester and Yes it was all 70 and 80's music and it was so much fun. We danced for at least an hour but the crowd got so huge we could not move at all so we left. They were still letting people in when we left the club, it was madness. The Indian people in there were very westernized, their clothes, they were drinking, dancing and some were even practically making out... could have been in Canada.. haha

The next day I went shopping with some of the girls on the tour and then Bridget and Georgina had to leave. Had already said goodbye to Chris to and Garrett and was getting a little sad to say bye to so many new friends all on the same day. Merrill and I were the only 2 left and we went for drinks with our Tour leader Beebal. He took us to this place that served tons of kinds of wine and you could smoke the flavoured tabacco, it was really quite cool. The menu cracked me up, they had a little of everything on it including French Canadian poutine which they said the pronunciation was FOO TAYN.. don't know about that.. haha

I am now on my last day in Mumbai and have been taking it easy trying to get over the cold I have had for a few weeks now. India is an incredible country, full of contradictions and unlike any place I have ever been. It has certainly been a wonderful experience!


Advertisement



22nd November 2005

Hi Tami, am sure am not the only one but I truly enjoy reading your journals. You have sent us quite few this past 2-3 days. Now, when I go to work, first I check my emails in the morning, I go home check my e-mails again just to see what you are up to. Happy to hear India is so much fun, and as exciting ( and crazy) as you hoped to be... When you come back, make sure you bring some souvenirs and pictures to prove and “support” some of your stories-especially the one about you watching a Bollywood movie, drinking rum and Pepsi! love, M.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb