First Stop: Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 17th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Storm Over IndonesiaStorm Over IndonesiaStorm Over Indonesia

Trying (unsuccessfully) to avoid a storm over some Indonesian islands
Arrived in Mumbai on the 16th about 9.30pm after my flight was delayed for a couple of hours. I got my first taste of India before I'd even landed with the trippy woman next to me giving me a basic lesson in Kundalini Yoga, resulting in a few wierd looks from the other passengers. The smell and heat brought back instant memories as soon as I was off the plane, and after a battling touts for a taxi, I was starting to wonder if I'd made the right decision. The taxi ride didn't help (mad overtaking through crazy city streets with no lights on - just the usual), nor did my overpriced craphole of a hotel.

Mumbai is just like any other big city in India; smelly, hot, poverty-stricken and full of people trying to get something out of you. Needless to say, the next day I made plans to fly out of there, making my way down to Kerala the following day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Mumbai HarbourMumbai Harbour
Mumbai Harbour

The uninspiring (and dirty) Mumbai Harbour. India Gate is on the left.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb