at a loss...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

so i have spent 30 minutes typing and erasing, trying to explain the events and intimate friendships that have developed between my hostel friends and I. but it isnt going well, and ya know what? some things are meant for talks face to face, not on a blog for anyone to read. so if you want to hear my best story ever, and i am pretty confident it will be my most favorite memory here, when i come home ask me about the night we were all required to attend a meeting given by a gynecologist at the catholic convent.

my last weekend in bombay...the marathon went by my street which was pretty exciting, i am now the official laughing stock of the hostel as my confidence with hindi increases and i get braver to use it despite the hysterical laughter that follows every time i speak it. i am getting very excited for some travelling time in the big unknown (unknown because i havent planned it yet) and then coming home! yikes!

i had an amazing day on friday when my 9 year old client was given the opportunity to use an assistive communication device ( a computer that talks for her when she pushes buttons) and she basically ended up being the most perfect example of how this beautiful, spunky, regular 9 year old kid is stuck in this body and that she has got some serious things to say! she was so hilarious and ended up making all of the boys put lipstick on their faces which for her was probably the funniest thing imaginable! oh i cant wait to show you guys my pictures!

ok, gotta go study...exam week is upon me!

send good calming thoughts...me




Advertisement



25th January 2007

Last days in Bombay...
How do you feel about the end of your Bombay days? I think the city has taught you alot - about yourself ,India, prejudice, poverty, joy and funky food! Glad the exam is behind you and the remainder of your India time will be an adventure. Can't wait to see you! love,M
25th January 2007

Calming thoughts
Becca, you should be very proud of all that you have accomplished in this journey. I know that everyone in our household is extremely proud of you and the dedication that you have shown, we are also very jealous! It is said the hardest part of any path that you under take is the first step, you are well past that. You have made friends, changed lives and enriched those that you have touched while on this trip. I look forward to pictures and stories when you come back, soon it will be spring and then summer here at home, and you can share with us while at the summer home on the lake. You will be able to sit around a soothing fire, gazing at the stars above, listening to the loons and have our complete attention. We miss you and love you, see you soon, Jim

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb