homerun to the head


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 8th 2007
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
before i forget i have to write that your comments and emails make me laugh, cry, smile til it hurts, and repeatedly embarass myself all over india's internet cafes. You guys are like this band of cheerleaders and I just cant believe how loved I am. Thank you so much.

I had a very low key weekend due to the fact that I had to pretend I was a PT and write a gait assesment (how someone walks) on one of my clients and well, it was hard and i was scared handing it in today. now it is OT week though and I am so on top of my game! we had this huge lecture on play and i was yawning while the PT's were asking questions about intrinsic motivation...the instructor Gail asked us how often we are just silly for the sake of it, go down slides, play games, roll around for no reason. i refrained from yelling "NOT NEARLY ENOUGH SINCE I HAVE BEEN HERE!" i think silly is my favorite state of mind and i basically found the one career i can channel that into something useful! so Ot week will be great i think.

i tried to venture out to go see a movie by myself yesterday and was walking around aimlessly a few streets out of my hood looking for directions to this cinema and i had to walk by a raucous cricket game. I took the most outer route on the sidewalk and still managed to get hit by the hit of the johnny damon of bombay, square in the back of the head. the strange thing is i kind of knew this was going to happen being the ample target i am. i just attract things like this all the time. it hurt quite a bit but what brought the tears to my eyes was not the instant bump and throbbing, but the fact that all these guys just laughed and stared at me, they didnt apologize or see if i was losing my cerebellum or anything. i got so upset it was a bit unreasonable. i stomped back to my safehouse and curled up with anita diamant's new book and didnt leave the hostel for the rest of the day...i just couldnt laugh about it! and you definitely are not aloud to either.

oh my funny news is that i made friends on friday night! these two folks came into my internet cafe and were asking about calling america and i told them about the card i use and we started chatting adn they were from NYC, 50's, lady was indian, man was american (scandalous around here) and they were so nice and i felt a bit embarassed about how excited i was to talk with them. i walked out feeling great but also like i should have moved in with them (my mom was encouraging me via instant messenger to be brave and ask them to dinner) but i shrugged her off insisting i wasnt that much of a dork but lo and behold when Ms. NYC came out and asked me would i want to have dinner with them i pretty much screamed YES and hugged her. total complete dork. we had so so so much fun though it was great. and of course it led to all these neat and amazing connections that just made me say again for the millionth time...my mom is always right!

ok off to go be silly in a corner...bec




Advertisement



8th January 2007

Damon the Devil!
Mom is gratified that recognition of her infallibility is now common knowledge-at least by the youngest! You are also on target about the gift of having found a "calling"- your profession fits you to a "T". Sending love and hugs, and ear munchies from Rudy.
8th January 2007

promise I didn't laugh
Is it wrong that I now want to find those mean laughing men and throw a ball at their head? Glad you met friends after ur yucky experience. You are correct, Aunt Jamima is always right! How does she do that?
9th January 2007

Becca Beaned in Bombay
Sorry, Becs, but I think your community of readers chuckled uproariously reading about this one. Glad you could write about it. It helps the healing process. Love, Dad
9th January 2007

first of all you should know that i am insanely jealous of you right now. you're doing stuff i hope/dream to some day in a far away place and i'm pretty much green with envy. and no dissing PTs either! haha...maybe us cousins can bridge the gap between the two fields some day, eh? love ya!
10th January 2007

keep smiling
I'm so proud of you! You never cease to amaze me. I've read every entry - keep them coming.

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb