Chillens in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Meherabad
June 23rd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well today I woke up extremely late 9:00 compared to my usual 5:45 am, and that was even with my normal bed time of 9:00 pm. Hahaha all those fights about curfew and here I am in bed before 10 like an old lady. Well since I did not wake up in time I was not able to see the people who had had eye surgery the day before but Caran, a lady who works at the hospital let me know that 5 people said that they still could not see which was very sad but atleast it went well for 12 people. The doctor who came in was very cocky and quite in love with himself so we are all kind of blaming the failure on him. However I did wake up in time to join two ladies named Barbara and Chitra to the bazaar (my favorite.) Iacctually bought something today! Ok so I just bought a vest but I am working on it. It was 250 rupees which comes to roughly $6 and it is all velvety and awesome. This is still expensive for india as we were at a store that catered pretty much to Western Pilgrams which is why I didnt get anything else. I did see some Tablas (the drums I want to get) for 1600 rs which is about $40. They typically cost about $100 in the United States and I am going to see if I can get them for about $25-$30. Chitra bought all of us mangos, chipus (an indian fruit you cant really get anywhere else) and a papaya. We are going to party tonight after Arti (basically mass for Meher Baba). I finally made it to the Pumpkin house today! HOORAY! I am going to teach arts and crafts to kids 4-7 Monday and Wednesdays from 10-11 am and then Saturdays we will play a game starting at 5pm. I walked there today but it was a loooong walk. Stella (the lady who runs the orphange)wants me to take a rickshaw but my thoughts are that walking is free. Besides I don't want anyone at the pilgram center to know I am going because I am not really suppose to stay at the pilgram center if I am doing non trust related work. Oh but get this, there are like no art supplies. I bassically have a few color pencils, some white paper, and news paper. I am going to have to get creative fast! When I met all the kidsI sat in this bigwhite guest chair and the kids lined up to meet me, introduced themselves, shook my hand, then when everyone was done they sung 3 songs for me. They are soooooooooooooooooo cute. There are about 41 kids there now, mostly boys. I am really excited to get to work but nervous to. I am not exactly sure how I am going to pull this off. I guess if it doesnt work I can always head up north and work with Tibetin refugees. There is a site that matches you with jobs. And I know of a place I can stay for 90 rs a day but I would have to get food. Oh well I am ready to give this a try and tomorrow lesson plans ^_^

Advertisement



23rd June 2008

CHILLINS!
CHILLINS! :D
1st July 2008

WOO! Indian kids!
12th July 2008

YAY! I finally found your travel blog!!! I'm going to read all of your entries now, and pretend that I am reading them as you post them!!!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb