Short but sweet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Aurangabad
February 20th 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kalaisnatha templeKalaisnatha templeKalaisnatha temple

A stunning Hindu temple cut out of the mountain piece by piece. Around the area there are others including Buddist and Jain temples/caves
Just a whistle stop here for me unfortunatly as I only had 10days left in india and wanted to at least see a couple of other places before i left.

I arrived at about 4am off the train with a Japanese girl and an English guy who had just arrived in India. I went to a hotel with them where they checked in (i was leaving that night so didn't) and kipped on the floor for a couple of hours.

Visiting the sites here (some really impressive caves and a fort) really warrants at least a couple of days but I'd seen lots of that sort of thing already so picked the best area and jumped on a bus later that morning with the english guy.

The place is pretty amazing and normally people compare it with Petra in Jordan... I haven't ben so I can't say but there is lots of caves and temples here all cut out of the rock and I thought they were pretty cool.

We spent a lot of time relaxing and slowly wondering around them with another English guy we met. I'll let the pictures to the rest.





Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb