You have become "Fat and Black"


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Amravati
September 25th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friends in SchoolFriends in SchoolFriends in School

A picture of myself and a few of my friends at school. This was a day where we actually were able to wear colored dress instead of the uniforms. Pictured: Aditi, Kashmira, Kaia, Nidhi, and Bhakti.
Well, I suppose it's time for me to finally update and let all of you know how things are going for me here in Amravati. School continues to be a bit of a challenge for me, but thankfully, the Headmistress Sister Natty and all of my teachers have proved to be very flexible and understanding. Instead of taking the exams, it sounds like I'll be submitting projects to receive my marks. I am just really thankful to have so many wonderful new friends here. They are all very kind, funny, and they help me out a lot.

My host brother is now describing me as "fat and black. " In reality, this means that I'm tan and fatter. Blame it on the oily, spicy, sweet Indian food that's served in large servings. 😊 I'm trying my best to stay active, but it can sometimes be a bit of a challenge here... not so easy to go for a run. In school we have Physical Training two times a week, so It's definitely nice to get some exercise!

The next two months of October and November are going to be full of fun events and busy for me. From October 5-9 I will be in the state of Gujarat with the rest of the Rotary Exchange students. We will be in the city of Bhuj for the Sharad Utsav Festival. I am really looking forward to this a lot, a lot. Gujarat is also well-known for the Garba, a type of dance. I have actually been learning the Garba from my neighbor across the street, Shweta. The dance is done in a circle and the people dress up in traditional costume with lots of jewelry. It sounds like I might be going for the dancing during one of the nights during the festival of Navaratri, which is currently taking place. Diwali, or the "festival of lights" also is in October and will be a lot of fun from what I've heard. My host mother even took me out a few days ago and we purchased a lovely sari for the occasion.
In November I will be going on a 23-day long tour of South India with all of the other exchange students in the area. I am so anxious and excited to go! It is really going to be a lot of fun to see another part of the country
A Local PotterA Local PotterA Local Potter

Throwing pottery on the wheel... Indian-style. :)
and see the historical sites. It will also be great to see some of the beautiful temples.

I just thought I'd bring all of you up to date on the happenings here in India. I hope you are all doing well!

God Bless,
Kaia


Advertisement



29th September 2006

Hey Kaia!!!
Wow. Just from seeing the pictures, India looks amazing. Soooo different from here. But I bet it's a nice change. [: I hope you're having a great time. Miss you Kaia! xxx
2nd October 2006

Wow
So great to hear from you Kaia--we hold our breaths until we hear from you! You look great in your colorful picture. We sure do miss you here but it looks like India's good for you! Love Julie, Dean, Holly and Miss Cleo
4th October 2006

Great Pictures!
Kaia, hope you keep posting more pictures....Now I know what you see outside your window everyday! Have a safe trip to Gujarat! Love you, Mom
11th October 2006

Skinny and white
Wad up home slice. We miss you. Hahha I like the picture of the potter on the bottom. What a cutie. Jeeez its been awhile. There is so much going on here as well. I dont even know where to start. And question do oyu have an accent? Go on msn more so we can chat! We luv you chica!
12th October 2006

Great to read you are doing well Kaia. Safe travels coming up and God bless! From the Schuder clan

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb