the time has come...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala
August 6th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The baby and I...The baby and I...The baby and I...

This was the youngest of the baby elephants, she was one year old..awwwwwwwww soooooooo cute!!
Tonight I will ingest my final Malaria pill. This marks the end of my stay in India, meaning I'm coming home!! In the last couple of weeks I traveled throughout Kerala, floated down the Keralan Backwaters, went to Wynad where we visted tribal colonies saw tea, coffee, and pepper plantations, saw monkies, went to Cochin and hung out with the coolest people ever, saw an amazing Kathakali show, traditional dancing, and listened to really good music... I rode crowded trains for hours, got blood sucked out of my foot by a leech... it truly has been an amzing experience, I loved every minute of it. I will definitley be back! I look forward to revisiting beautiful Kerala.

I spent the last couple of days in Fort Cochin, it was so much fun! Aside from all the awesome people we met, the shopping and the best chocolate cake I have ever had Cochin was cool because I got to bathe BABY ELEPHANTS!!!!!!!!!!!! Awwwwwwww, they were so fat and cute it was awesome.
About one hour away from Cochin there is a goverment training center for elephants...so, every morning the elephants are taken for their daily bath (scrub down) and then they
scrubbing the babies..scrubbing the babies..scrubbing the babies..

they use coconut husks to scrub down the elephants
have breakfast and continue on with the rest of the day. I got to bathe the baby elephants, saw big elephants and got all up close and personal with them. It was the coolest thing EVER!!!!

Anyway, I have so much to tell all of you...so many pictures and ridiculous stories ...I can't wait to share them with you all!!
I'll be home on the 9th (physically at least, I can't make any promises about my mental condition).

I hope to see and talk to all of you soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Grandma MonkeyGrandma Monkey
Grandma Monkey

One of the many monkies in Wynad
kathakalikathakali
kathakali

An Amazing Kathakali show in Fort Cochin


7th August 2006

wow
The pictures that you sent are really amazing!!!...its hard to believe that you had such an experience! I hope that you took many more pictures that you will share later!!!! Perhaps an India photo party....???

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb