Jennifer is temporarily unavailable, please leave a message after the beep....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

beeep.....

I can't believe I am leaving the hippy traveler, ocean-side paradise of Verkala so soon! We arrived yesterday afternoon in time for an early dinner, to find Emily new less posh (and spendy) digs and to catch stunning arabian sea sunset. This place reminds me a little of a california beach town with the cafes, hippy white folks, funky shops and rolling ocean. We stayed our last night of the booked tour at a very nice bungalow styled hotel.. clean and stylish. Emily reflected that although we've been joking about our experience of India being the 'princess tour' (guides/car & driver/pre-booked accommodations), we have definitely been off the path beaten by the average traveler. Verkala and Amma's ashram were the first places we have encountered a mostly foreign population. Mostly we have been in areas where locals live, work and stay. (made us feel a little better about being princesses!)

Young Emily, the poor thing, spends her last week in India walking the cliff and lounging on the beach in Verkala, where bikini clad beauties are less of a spectacle. I on the other hand continue my journey north to a Vipassana Meditation Centre near Hyderabad, where I will spend 10 days in silent contemplation. In the past the thought of a silent retreat although intriguing was a little too far out of my comfort zone to attempt. This time it feels like a natural progression from the 11 person tour group with our first experiences in hectic Delhi, to the more laid back feeling of south India, to the two of us in Kerala for the past week. There has been a progressive downward spiral of frenetic activity that will come to a rest at the retreat.

A rather austere experience, there will be no cell phone or (gasp!) email. So this will be my last posting until I resurface from meditative bliss on March 1.

Thanks for all the messages of love and appreciation. I'm glad to hear the bits of my experience of India that I've been able to share have been enjoyed on the other end. As someone observed there is so much more that has happened, it's impossible to share it all.... maybe over bhut masala chia on my new silk rug.

namaste
jen






Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb