Busy doing nothing!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
October 18th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I cant believe we have been here a week almost. It's been really relaxing and we've got used to doing nothing and I really mean nothing. We eat, sleep, walk on the beach, eat some more, watch the sunset...you get the idea.

Whilst walking the other day we chatted to a lifeguard (they really have them here!) who asked if we wanted to see dolphins. We were disappointed thinking 'oh no' even the lifeguard is trying to get us on a trip but he pointed just off shore and there was a school of dolphins playing and jumping. It was lovely to watch them.

Different people we have met have referred to 'the Varkala Vortex' and it would certainly be very easy to stay here. We're thinking about moving on tomorrow to Kovallam - not far away but more to see and do - we keep telling ourselves we can always come back here...

The food here is wonderful - Pete's had lots of fresh fish (Barracuda, red snapper) and I'm just enjoying the fresh juices and vegetables - why does everything taste better in the sun? We have enjoyed our first Indian breakfast whilst here (stew and chappati's)...it was very nice actually. Oh and I love the Chai (Masala tea).

It rains quite often here but only for a part of the day and then the sun breaks through again to dry everything out...I'm glad Pete persuaded me to buy a decent rain coat - thats for sure...

I have of course by now made a couple of purchases - some nice scarves / shawls and a couple of bits of jewlery (it would be rude not to!). Pete says as long as I can carry it I can buy it - show me the extra rucksack!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb