Paradise


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The tourism slogan for Kerala is ' Visit God's Country' and I must say that it has been truly magnificent country and when I arrived here yesterday I thought I was in Paradise.

I enjoyed my 2 extra days in Trivandum walking the streets and seeing how the people live , work and interact with each other ...and with the various vehicles on the roads . I sucessfully negotiated rickshaw rides , shopped a little and learned my way around a train station...it was all quite fun !I also met with fellow travellors and got tips on where to go , how to get there and places to stay. The travelling network is a valuable one.

Yesterday I enjoyed the train ride here. It is so much easier than the highway driving which takes an immense amount of patience and concentration...and a strong stomach. The traffic is WILD!!
It was also interesting to see separate villages and the homes from the train rather than the nonstop housing and businesses we saw the last few days on the road. I enjoyed it.

Arriving here was a MAJOR surprise .It is a tropical paradise !. CLiffs high above the Arabian Sea ,palm trees everywhere and backpackers settled in for a little R&R from India travel...it is a haven as Goa had been for many years but much more developped . There are accomodations available for any budget , oodles of restaurants serving foods of India ,Germany ,Mexico , Spain ,France ,Thailand all with fresh sea food on their menus ...shops selling Indian and Tibetan articles.Tailors ,beauty "saloons" and massage/health centers of many types. THere is an amazing assortment of nationalities and ages enjoying the area and I think I may stay longer than the 4 days I had originally planned.

Today I walked on the beach in the early morning and at sunset. ,laid in a hammock reading for a few hours, ate some great food , had my legs waxed and did a little shopping...I was finally able to buy a silk sleeping bag like the one I didn't buy in Hanoi 4 years ago .It is hot but it cools off at night and the sound of the waves is everywhere. It feels good to be out of a city and away from vehicles and I am making the most of it.

Hope all is well with you..

Advertisement



15th February 2007

Paradise
It is what you were longing for - the beach and all the amenities that go with a tourist place - you deserve the break after all the road travel.
15th February 2007

Hello From Regina
Wow, Kerala sounds amazing. Glad you are getting some sun and rest. It can be exhausting when one is constantly moving from place to place. All is well here....we are just today (Thursday Feb. 15) getting a break from minus 30 so would rather have been there with you this last week. Blair is settling into Edmonton on his first week of work at GreatWest Life and Laura has been in Tanzania for a week already (at a CIDA planning workshop) but will be back next Wednesday. Your house is awesome.......very quiet and relaxing. Take care....Kelly.....
16th February 2007

Vacation in Varkala
I'm so glad for you that you found Varkala beach. I loved the black sand and the cliffs and the dolphins that would come in to play in the morning. I also ate the best falafels of my life at a restaurant up a spiral staircase toward the top end of the beach strip. Have you met Renata, the exuberant US expat yet? I imagine her to be a mainstay. Enjoy!
18th February 2007

Paradise
This sounds wonderful Pam, adventures in India. Enjoy the warm weather; the good food and walks on the beach. We look forward to seeing pictures of Paridise. We could use some beach weather around here last night we had a freeze.
18th February 2007

Greetings from Los Ayala,near Guyabitas
Hi Pam ,Enjoy your R and R.We are here for 3 weeks this Wednesday and loving it. lovely beaches and so many nice people.Lots of Canadians ,Amaricans and lgreat locals. Will keep my eyes open for Lionel and Roger,we may walk by each other and not recognize one another. WE ARE AT 246 AVENIDA ESTERO IN LOS AYALA..TO THE BEACHFRONT STEET AND GO LEFT ALL THE WAY TOTHE END -A BRIDGE TAKES YOU TO ESTERO AND LEFT TO 246 . THEY ARE WELCOME TO COME AND VISIT FOR- A COLD BEER OR COKE. hope your next travels go well.Cheers,Nettie and Bryon

Tot: 0.387s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb