Kaivalyam Yoga Retreat or Heaven!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Munnar
April 4th 2010
Published: April 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Now let me tell you about how I came to be staying in such a beautiful place as Kaivalyam Yoga Retreat.


Back at the beautiful Rose Garden homestay, I called Kaivalyam and asked if I could stay until the 7th. In previous emails I had established that this place was too expensive for me but they said that I could stay at a homestay nearby and still come to Kaivalyam for all my food and yoga. This was at a heavily reduced price which I could afford and this is what I asked for. Harish said that there was plenty of room and I could stay with them for the same price. Wow!


Well this place is like a 5 star retreat. It’s only been open for 2 weeks so some things aren’t quite finished, but all in all it is wonderful. I am sleeping in a king size latex mattress bed with crisp white sheets. I have a sparkling bathroom with fluffy white towels. There is a T.V. and room service! I have a large balcony that looks straight into tall trees, cardamom and coffee plants and the people here are so kind and thoughtful. The yoga that Harish takes is excellent too. Then there is the food, oh the food! Far too much of it and always so good. I am actually putting on weight. Crazy! At night I lay in bed and listen to the noise of the forest, birds, insects and no cars - peace.


As you would know, the sort of accommodation that I usually stay in is modest to say the least and I keep asking myself, “Why am I here, what is the purpose?” I firmly believe that there is a reason for everything and as much as this is wonderful and I am enjoying myself immensely - why? Then Harish starting telling about a great place in Pune where he studied yoga and that is why I am here. There is a 6 week certificate yoga training programme that is just what I want to do. I am here to find out about that! I may not be able to do it this year because of enrollment deadlines, but time is not important to me. Now I have worked that out, I can lay back and enjoy.


Ramesh, driver, gardener and all round great guy took me on a 2 hour hike through cardamom plantations and jungle like places and although it nearly killed me I wouldn’t have missed it for anything. Maybe I sweated off a few kilos!


India never lets me down, I am so happy and complete here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ramesh, my guideRamesh, my guide
Ramesh, my guide

He found a broken wasp or bees nest.
My Kaivalyam walk My Kaivalyam walk
My Kaivalyam walk

We made it to a waterfall. I was ready to jump in to cool down.


8th April 2010

Wonderful photos. Lovely place. Good to discover your destination. Enjoy. Jackiexxxx
28th June 2010

truly amazing pics m'aam,i am an north indian and i never had a chance to see kerala ,lucky you! any other places in kerala worth visiting?. xoxo
12th January 2011
Two of the garden workers.

gggggggggggggggggood
but i want working workers

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb