Auroville, farewell Pondi and to Kerala.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Munnar
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I spent what ended up being my last day in Tamil Nadu on the back of Heidi’s motorbike looking around Auroville. She explained how Auroville works and showed me some beautiful community buildings and homes. It’s a very interesting place. She even booked for the two of us to go into the Matri Mandir for mediation, an experience not to be missed. Thank you Heidi.

I had time for a bit of a rest - I needed it, then I walked to a favourite restaurant to meet Susan for dinner. While I was waiting I had a call from the ISHA foundation where I shall be working in Coimbatore saying that they could not give me accommodation until 7th April. So what to do until then?

When Susan arrived I told her about the conversation that I had with Raji and she told me about her day and that she was all organized to leave for Munnar tomorrow. Then I had a brain wave. Susan had asked me to accompany her to Munnar before, but I had refused as I thought that I had to be in Coimbatore on the 1st. Now that I had 8 days to spare, I could go with her.

So at 10o/c that night I was at the Park guesthouse packing my things for my next trip. Life can change on a 10 rupee note and that’s just how I like it.

After about 6 hours driving we crossed the boarder from Tamil Nadu to Kerala on top of a very high hill or a small mountain. At the check point the guard looked in the car, obviously thought we didn’t look threatening and let us through.

Once in Kerala everything seemed to become instantly greener. I mentioned this to Mani our driver and he said of course, we are on the other side of the mountain. We saw cardamom plants everywhere as well as pepper, coffee, jackfruit, bananas and papaya. It’s lush! I have wanted to come to Kerala for a long time and now I am here. The air-con taxi is costing Susan US$60 a day but insists that I pay nothing. How lucky am I. On my own I would have had a fun but uncomfortable bus trip.

I decided to stay at the same home stay as Susan for the first night only - too expensive for me, but felt confident in finding something lovely but cheaper the next day.

In the morning we went to the tea museum and a place for people with intellectual and physical disabilities. It was inspiring. The grounds are beautiful, the people are happy and the things they are producing are amazing. Wonderful hand made paper products, and beautifully hand dyed fabrics and clothes.

I am quickly becoming a fan of Southern India.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb