Nomadic life..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kollam
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am getting a bit bored here.. it could very well be the lack of company... but also, I realized the south is not the India I wanted to see.. Given 6 months- 1 year.. I would relax and visit everything.. But I have 2 weeks left and need to prioritize what I want.. Kerala is beautiful.. coastal tropical area.. Many many beautiful temples.. all green, slow pace life, straw huts.. beach living.... which is all fine and dandy, but it's not what IM looking for.

I am going to book a plane right to Varanassi to see the Ganges River for a few days.. the oldest city in history.. known also for the daily burning corpse.. and am advised not to be surprised if you see a dead body floating around... many old people come ready to die with their families... but all in all, suppose to be a beautiful city.. I'd also like to ride Camels.. a helpful Marianne told me about her experience riding camels in the north and sleeping under the stars with them.. That is what I want.

Im currently in the ashram, and completely bored. I cant meditate for more than 2 minutes. There is no yoga instructor here, someone gave me a good idea of hiring a personal yoga instructor once at the beach of Goa. Im excited!! Although I just checked in last night.. I think I am going to leave as soon as I can book a train or bus to Varkala.. a beach southward.. or Trivandrum, where I will take my flight out to Varanassi or Goa..

Please email me, chip me in with ideas of what to do in Varanassi.. If i have time, I may fly to Rajasthan as well..

Advertisement



25th February 2008

You need to post pictures with these stories too!
25th February 2008

you
I am soooooo in wow by you going on this trip. Have fun.
28th February 2008

jacki
i would pee in my pants if i saw a dead body floating around in a river. =/
28th February 2008

Jackie's Vacation
Its great to hear from you so far away and for you to share your travel experiences I admire you!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb